Men's Swimming

    Thrilling Finish in Indiana, Texas, Michigan Double Dual Meet

    Go Hoosiers! Sophomore Eric Ress had NCAA provisional times in the 100 and 200 backstrokes, taking the victory in the 200 back.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Sophomore Eric Ress had NCAA provisional times in the 100 and 200 backstrokes, taking the victory in the 200 back.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Nov. 5, 2010

    Complete Results |  Photo Gallery 

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Hoosier swimmers and divers put up four NCAA provisional times and set a new school 1-meter springboard dual meet record, and the meet came down to the final event for Indiana and Michigan as the two teams, along with Texas, took part in a double dual meet Friday afternoon at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center.

    Indiana and Michigan finished in a 150-150 tie. Texas picked up a pair of wins with a 181-119 victory over the Hoosiers and a 160-140 win over the Wolverines.

    "The meet came down to that last relay and we were leading it with 25 (yards) to go," said head coach Ray Looze. "It is kind of strange to end a meet in a tie because there are so many points out there. I think when the guys look back they will see there were opportunities to win this in those last few events.

    "That is what we will need to do in January when we meet again. We need to train with passion and desire. And if we do come out victorious, we will have beaten a very good team. I am proud of them but we have more work to do."

    Senior David Piercy set a new dual meet school record in the 1-meter springboard with a score of 383.50, good for second place. That tops his previous career best on the 1-meter by nearly 20 points. The previous dual meet record was 376.35, set by Mike Collier in 1999. Freshman Darian Schmidt was third (355.95), with sophomore Zac Nees fourth (350.10) and sophomore Casey Johnson fifth (328.05).

    On the 3-meter springboard, Schmidt took second with a season-best 398.90 points, followed by Piercy (383.25), Nees (382.85) and Mick Dell'Orco (359.20). For six dives, Schmidt's score ranks seventh all-time among individual IU performers.

    The team of sophomore Eric Ress, freshman Cody Miller, junior Cody Weik and senior Bryan Chovanec took third in the 200-yard medley relay with a season-best time of 1:31.21. Both Michigan (1:29.44) and Texas (1:29.56) posted NCAA provisional times in the race.

    Senior Illya Larin bettered his career best by posting the 10th-fastest individual swim in IU history in the 1,000 freestyle with a time of 9:12.15, good for third place. Sophomore Ryan Hinshaw was fifth in 9:17.71. Sophomore Ryan Downey knocked nine seconds off his personal best to finish second in his heat and seventh overall with a time of 9:21.37.

    Senior Titus Knight pulled away from the field to win the 200 free in a time of 1:38.59, a season best by nearly a second. Sophomore Jim Barbiere was third in 1:59.57, and junior Tyler Shedron sixth (1:40.16).

    Ress picked up his first B cut of the season with a 48.52 in the 100 backstroke, finishing second. Freshman James Well touched the wall in a season best 50.16 to finish third, with Doug Spraul sixth (50.53-season best)

    Senior Tyler Lemert was the top Hoosier in the 100-yard breaststroke, finishing sixth in 57.33 - a season best. Sophomore Sam Trahin took top IU honors in the 200-yard butterfly at 1:51.04, with Weik seventh (1:51.39) and Shedron eighth (1:51.98).

    Chovanec won the sprint to the wall with an NCAA B cut of 20.26 in the 50-yard freestyle. Senior Ante Zoricic was fourth, clocking in at 20.70.

    During the break between the 50-yard freestyle and 100-yard freestyle, former Indiana swimmer and 1977 200 backstroke Big Ten champion Dr. Paul Sigfusson was recognized as tonight he is being awarded the Z.G. Clevenger Award by the I-Association, the highest honor that can be bestowed upon an I-Man.

    Zoricic was third in the 100 freestyle with a season-best time of 45.30. Knight was sixth at 45.52, and Barbiere ninth (46.31).

    Ress led a 1-2 Indiana finish in the 200-yard backstroke, taking the win in an NCAA provisional time of 1:46.33. Senior Doug Spraul was a second-place finisher at 1:48.59.

    Lemert was the sixth-place finisher in the 200-yard breaststroke (2:04.84), followed by Trahin (2:04.88) and Senior Brenden Butler (2:05.11).

    Larin paced the Hoosiers in the 500 freestyle with a third-place time of 4:29.40, while Hinshaw missed out on fourth place by 2/100ths of a second with a time of 4:30.04. Indiana led Michigan 138-107 after the event.

    Shedron's time of 50.15 was good for fifth in the 100 butterfly, while junior Jon Hueni took seventh (50.70). That event cut Indiana's lead over Michigan to 23 points at 143-121.

    Ress was eighth in the 200-yard individual medley, leading the Hoosiers with a time of 1:52.44. Trahin took ninth (1:52.62) and Weik 10th (1:53.49).

    The battle between Michigan and Indiana came down to the 400 free relay with IU holding a 146-137 lead. Michigan needed to take first and second in the relay to defeat the Hoosiers, while a first and third finish would have resulted in a tie. It was Indiana battling for first and second and the Wolverines came through with a winning time of 3:00.09. The Hoosiers were second in 3:00.35, B cuts for both schools. Michigan's B team also had a B cut for a third-place finish of 3:00.73, ending the meet in a 150-150 tie.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties