Men's Swimming

    Day One of Hoosierland Open Complete

    Go Hoosiers! Bart Ginocchio's performance in the 500-yard freestyle earned him a red cap as the swimmer of the day.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Bart Ginocchio's performance in the 500-yard freestyle earned him a red cap as the swimmer of the day.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Nov. 15, 2007


    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The first day of competition at the three-day Hoosierland Open is in the books, with several solid performances from the Indiana men's swimming and diving team.

    "It was kind of an up-and-down day for us," said head coach Ray Looze. "We have been ravaged by illness and are a bit tired, but we had some nice breakthroughs. We just need to get on a more comprehensive roll and this is a good level of competition to do that. We plan to come out swinging tomorrow."

    Indiana opened the evening session with a victory in the 200-yard freestyle relay, with Matt Lenton, Todd Patrick, Ben Hesen and Ronnie Hehn combining for a time of 1:22.32. The "B" squad of Doug Spraul, A.J. Miller, Titus Knight and Mark Wetzel finished ninth (1:26.74).

    Alex Brunfeldt (4:31.37), John Kevin Koehler (4:33.85) and Knight (4:33.96) were the top three qualifiers for the 500 freestyle championship final and went 1-2-3 in the final with Koehler first (4:27.35-season best), Brunfeldt second (4:30.38-season best) and Knight third (4:31.22-season best). In the consolation final, Bart Ginocchio placed first with a time of 4:34.75, taking 10 seconds off his previous season best. Steffan Troxel was third in the first bonus final with a time of 4:40.76, while Norm Ference was sixth (4:42.77-season best).



    Ginocchio was awarded a red cap as the swimmer of the day for his performance.

    Patrick qualified first in the 200 individual medley and was joined in the championship final by Steven Murry, Alec Haley and Miller. Patrick led a 1-2 IU finish with a winning time of 1:49.43. Haley placed second with a season-best time of 1:51.99, with Murry fifth (1:53.24) and Miller sixth (1:53.28-season best).

    The Hoosiers had five swimmers in the 200 IM consolation final, led by Hesen in first at 1:51.89. Koehler was right on his heels in second (1:54.64), while Heath Tameris was fifth (1:55.96). Rounding out the heat were Tim Blue (7th-1:57.22) and Brenden Butler (8th-1:57.26). In the first bonus final, Cody Weik was sixth (1:57.96), followed by Kevin Happ (7th-1:58.62) and Macgregor Leo (8th-1:59.08).

    Competing in the championship final of the 50-yard freestyle, Patrick was third with a time of 20.66. Lenton was the lone Hoosier in the consolation final where he was victorious with a time of 20.56. In the bonus final Knight led the way with a second-place finish (21.82), followed by Wetzel in fourth (21.93) and Miller eighth (22.55).

    The Hoosiers closed out the evening with the 400 medley relay with the team of Hesen, Hehn, Patrick and Knight outdistancing themselves from the field by three seconds with a winning time of 3:19.67. Doug Spraul, Pat Penoyar, Miller and Lenton were third at 3:23.07.

    It was a 1-2 IU sweep in the men's 3-meter diving event as freshman Landon Marzullo continues his strong collegiate start with a winning score of 360.50. Senior Taylor Roberts took second with marks totaling 353.35. Also competing in the final round were David Legler (11th- 279.95) and Will Bohonyi (13th-265.55).

    The meet continues tomorrow with the preliminary session beginning at 9 a.m. The finals are scheduled to start at 6 p.m. The men will compete in the 400 individual medley, 100 butterfly, 200 freestyle, 100 breaststroke and 100 backstroke, 200 medley relay and 800 freestyle relay.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties