Men's Swimming

    Indiana Wraps Up Hoosierland Open

    Go Hoosiers! Ronald Hehn was victorious in the 200-yard breaststroke at the Hoosierland Open.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Ronald Hehn was victorious in the 200-yard breaststroke at the Hoosierland Open.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Nov. 17, 2007

    Complete Results

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The Indiana men's and women's swimming and diving teams wrapped up the three-day Hoosierland Open on Saturday with several standout performances.

    Presley Bard led IU with a 10th-place finish in the 200 backstroke, clocking in at 2:02.57. Amy Harriman was fourth in the consolation final at 2:04.51 and was awarded a game cap for her performances on Saturday. In the men's final it was Todd Patrick taking home the title (1:49.67), followed by John Kevin Koehler in fifth (1:52.50). The Hoosiers were also well represented in the consolation final with Doug Spraul (ninth-1:54.87), Kevin Happ (11th-1:55.56) and Ben Hesen (14th-1:57.52).

    "I thought this was our best day," said head coach Ray Looze. "The men continued to perform very well. They struggled a bit in the morning session but finished strong.

    "The women did a much better job and showed more spirit today. I think things ended well for both teams and now they will have a few days off to spend some much-deserved time with their families."

    Patrick and Matt Lenton went 2-3 in the men's 100-yard freestyle with Patrick touching first in 45.54, followed by Lenton (45.97). Titus Knight also qualified for the championship final where he finished seventh (47.33).

    Sarah Stockwell led the Hoosier women in the 200 breast with a fifth-place time of 2:19.25. Abby Cooper was first in the consolation final and ninth overall with her time of 2:19.47. Cooper was also awarded a game cap for her efforts. The Indiana men's depth came through in the 200 breast as IU placed five swimmers in the championship final with Ronnie Hehn taking the title in a season-best time of 2:01.01. Alec Haley was second (2:02.48) and Pat Penoyar third (2:03.27). Macgregor Leo was also a top five finisher (fifth-2:05.97) with Hesen seventh (2:07.52).



    Haley added another second-place finish in the 200 butterfly (1:50.59-season best), with Christopher Head fourth (1:54.09) and Tim Blue fifth (1:54.96).

    In the men's and women's 400-yard freestyle relays. The women's team of Bard, Donna Smailis, Kristin Cihoski and Stockwell touched the wall sixth with a time of 3:30.54. IU's men's squad of Hesen, A.J. Miller, Hehn and Happ were fourth (3:07.32).

    The swimming portion of the meet concluded with the 1,650 freestyle. Amanda Smith recorded an NCAA B cut of 16:46.09 to finish fourth, while Christie Fuchs was ninth (17:12.45). The men were led by Koehler's second-place finish (15:08.31).

    In the diving well, Brittany Feldman picked up a second-place finish in the 3-meter springboard on Friday with a score of 308.80. Teammate Jade Summerlin also qualified for the championship round where she finished 10th (242.95). In the men's 1-meter event, Taylor Roberts took home the title with 358.75 points, while freshman Landon Marzullo was third (335.60). Kris Hill rounded out the Hoosier contingent in the finals with a seventh-place finish (283.00).

    Saturday's platform event had Amy Korthauer as the top IU women's finisher in 13th (159.25). Indiana's men went 2-3-4 with Landon Marzullo (345.55), Will Bohonyi (330.25) and David Legler (324.20).


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties