Men's Swimming

    Hoosiers Pick up Trio of Wins on Day Two of IU Open Invite

    Go Hoosiers! Taylor Roberts earned his second win of the weekend with a triumph on the one-meter springboard.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Taylor Roberts earned his second win of the weekend with a triumph on the one-meter springboard.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Nov. 18, 2006


    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Taylor Roberts and Todd Patrick both picked up their second wins of the weekend, and Ben Hesen grabbed his first to lead Indiana on the second day of the IU Open Invitational at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center on Nov. 18.

    Roberts won the one-meter springboard with a score of 331.55 after winning the preliminary session (342.45) and finishing second in the semifinal (348.15). The win complemented Roberts' victory in the three-meter on Nov. 17.

    "Taylor Roberts was the most poised I've seen him all year," assistant diving coach Todd Waikel said. "All three lists, semis, prelims and finals, he stayed consistent and stayed right into his `A' game and did some great stuff. In particular, his second list he just did some phenomenal dives. We're just really pleased with his progress."

    Former IU diver Jesse Rappaport took seventh in the championship final with a score of 293.15.

    Patrick picked up his win in the 100-yard butterfly, touching first in a time of 48.75. Junior Nick Walkotten was fourth in 50.94, while sophomore Matt Lenton, who is competing in the event unattached, touched in 51.23 for fifth.

    Hesen remained perfect on the year in the 100-yard backstroke, taking the championship final in a meet-record time of 48.63. Patrick finished third in the championship heat in 50.14.

    The 13th-ranked Hoosiers dominated the final of the 400-yard individual medley, putting six swimmers in the championship heat. Steven Murry took second in 3:57.59, while John Kevin Koehler was fourth (4:05.95), Alec Haley fifth (4:06.45), Hesen sixth (4:08.80), Alex Brunfeldt seventh (4:08.91) and Michael Son eighth (4:11.67).



    Pat Penoyar led the Hoosier charge in the 100-yard breaststroke with a fourth-place finish in 57.39, while Ronald Hehn was fifth (58.72), Patrick was seventh (1:00.12) and Murry was eighth (1:00.90). Former Indiana All-American Kevin Swander finished second in 54.88.

    IU had a pair of finalists in the 200-yard freestyle, with Lee Houchin touching in 1:43.03 for fourth place and freshman Drew Sease finishing fifth in 1:43.64. Koehler won the consolation heat in 1:44.20.

    Indiana's relays produced a pair of second-place finishes on the evening. Hesen, Hehn, Walkotten and Patrick turned in a 1:30.52 effort in the 200-yard medley relay, while Patrick, Koehler, Houchin and Brunfeldt touched in 6:52.19 in the 800-yard freestyle relay.

    "We had a better day on both sides of the coin, for the women and the men," head coach Ray Looze said. "The guys got it going tonight much better than they have. We're making some nice progress. We're becoming a team."

    The IU Open Invitational concludes on Sunday, Nov. 19, with preliminaries set for 9 a.m. and finals slated for 4 p.m.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties