Men's Swimming

    Hoosiers Shine on Day Two of Hoosierland Invite

    Go Hoosiers! Freshman Jim Barbiere anchored Indiana to a victory in the 800 free relay.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Freshman Jim Barbiere anchored Indiana to a victory in the 800 free relay.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Nov. 22, 2008


    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Aaron Opell posted an NCAA B cut in winning the 400-yard individual medley and the 800 freestyle relay team also hit an NCAA mark to highlight day two of the Hoosierland Invite at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center.

    The meet concludes Sunday with prelims starting at 9 a.m.

    The final event of the evening turned out to be the most exciting as the Hoosier A team of Titus Knight, Cody Weik, Eric Ress and Jim Barbiere chased down the Louisville A squad to win the 800 freestyle relay with an NCAA B cut of 6:33.61. With the Hoosiers trailing by half a body length after 600 yards, Barbiere chased down the Cardinals' Adam Madarassy for the win.

    "Going up against a veteran team like Louisville we had two freshmen and two sophomores out there who really came through for us," said head coach Ray Looze. "This is a good step forward for the team. Jim (Barbiere) has really had to work on adjusting to collegiate swimming this fall and he pulled (that win) out for us.

    "In addition, Cody (Weik) and Eric (Ress) had critical legs for us. A win like that is uplifting and shows that we can get things done when the pressure is on." The evening session began with the 200 medley relay as Indiana's A team of Doug Spraul, Heath Tameris, Matt Lenton and Bryan Chovanec finished second in 1:29.07. The B team of Eric Ress, Tyler Lemert, Ante Zoricic and Titus Knight were third (1:31.72).



    The Hoosiers went 1-2 in the 400-yard individual medley final with Opell posting an NCAA B cut of 3:52.22 to win. Cody Weik was second in 3:54.27, while Kevin Happ also finished among the top five with a fifth-place time of 4:00.51.

    Lenton pulled away from the field in the 100 butterfly with a winning time of 48.73, with Cameron Owen fifth (50.15). In the consolation final Matthew O'Brien was second with a time of 49.42, while Bader Al-Muhana was third (49.55).

    Knight took second in the 200 free with a time of 1:37.27, with Zoricic fifth (1:40.22) and Weik eighth (1:42.10). Jim Barbiere won the consolation heat with a career-best time of 1:39.33.

    Indiana took the 3-4-5 spots in the 100 breaststroke with Tyler Lemert third (54.97), Heath Tameris fourth (56.05) and Justin Peterfish fifth (56.38).

    Spraul was third in the championship final of the 100 backstroke, clocking in at 49.44 which is just 4/100ths of a second off his personal best. Ress was sixth in 50.03. In the morning prelims, Ress qualified No. 1 in 100 back at 49.92, with Spraul third (50.42).


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties