Men's Swimming

    Indiana Finishes Strong on Day Three of the Hoosierland Invitational

    Go Hoosiers! Ante Zoricic's time of 43.98 swimming leadoff on the 400 free relay was a personal best.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Ante Zoricic's time of 43.98 swimming leadoff on the 400 free relay was a personal best.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Nov. 23, 2008


    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The Indiana men's swimming and diving team concluded a successful Hoosierland Invite with an NCAA B cut in the 400-yard freestyle relay Sunday afternoon at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center.

    "It am excited about our younger guys, but some of our veterans really stepped it up this weekend," said head coach Ray Looze. "I am pleased with the development of the newcomers. They work so hard in practice and for the guys that have been working the hardest it was nice to seem them shine (this weekend)."

    Bart Ginocchio took second in the mile with a time of 15:25.85. That is almost 20 seconds better than his previous personal best. Brendan Butler was third (15:36.05-PR), Ryan Hinshaw fourth (15:36.57), and Steffan Troxel sixth (15:40.45).

    Eric Ress won the 200 backstroke in 1:45.91, with Doug Spraul third (1:48.14). Kevin Happ rounded out the top five, placing fourth (1:48.93).

    Ante Zoricic swam a then-personal best 44.50 to finish second in the 100 freestyle final, while Titus Knight was seventh in 45.44. Matt Lenton won the consolation heat in 44.77, just off his personal best of 44.22 set in 2007.

    Zoricic topped his 100 time on the leadoff leg of the 400 free relay with a time of 43.98.

    Heath Tameris captured third in the 200-yard breaststroke in 2:03.19, with Justin Peterfish fifth and Butler seventh (2:07.97).



    Cody Weik was second in the championship final of the 200 butterfly (1:48.29), followed by Tyler Shedron in fourth (1:49.88). Cameron Owen also qualified for the championship final where he finished eighth (1:51.67).

    The day ended with the 400-yard freestyle relay and Indiana's A team of Zoricic, Lenton, Weik and Knight posted an NCAA B cut of 2:57.78. The B squad of Cameron Owen, Sean Ransenberg, Bryan Chovanec and Jim Barbiere was fifth (3:07.31).

    Sophomore Landon Marzullo captured the three-meter springboard title with a pool-record 402.40 points in the final round. Linus Altman-Kurosaki was third with 320.90 points.

    Marzullo added to his victories on Sunday with 387.85 points on the platform to finish first. David Leger was second (350.70), followed by Jonathan Dohring (255.20), Altman-Kurosaki (254.10) and Robert Dohring (236.65).

    Marzullo missed out on the three-meter championship by less than three points, finishing behind Pittsburgh's Alex Volovetski with a total of 390.65 in the finals. Altman-Kurosaki was third with a total of 346.95, followed by Jonathan Dohring in fourth (300.55).

    Indiana returns to collegiate competition on Jan. 10 when it plays host to Michigan and Tennessee.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties