Men's Swimming

    Dr. Jeff Huber Named Diving's National Coach of the Year

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!

    February 6, 2004

    Bloomington, Ind. - Dr. Jeff Huber, Indiana men's and women's diving coach, was selected as Diving's National Coach of the Year for the United State Olympic Committee's Coach Recognition Program. The award covers the dates of January 1, 2003 through December 31, 2003.

    "Like any coaching award, this award is really a reflection of the athletes and their dedication, commitment and performances," said Huber. "Unlike the 2003 U.S. Coach of the Year award, which reflects the IU divers' national performances, the 2003 USOC award reflects, in part, the IU divers' performances and accomplishments at the international level this past year. We have been working on making more of an impact at the international level. I am very proud of their efforts, improvements and accomplishments. I accept this award on their behalf."

    The award caps off an incredible year for Huber. He was named 2003 Big Ten Men's and Women's Coach of the Year as well as being named the U.S. National Coach of the Year for the sixth consecutive year. Huber earned the U.S. National Coach of the Excellence Award.

    In addition, Huber was a coach on the FINA/USA U.S. National Team and the head coach of the FINA Grand Prix Super Finals U.S. Team. Additionally, he was a co-head coach on the U.S. World Championship Team and the U.S. Pan American Games Team.

    During his tenure at IU, Huber has been recognized as Big Ten Coach of the Year on eight occasions (three for women's and five for men's), and has coached 24 Big Ten champions and 10 Big Ten Divers of the Year in his 14-year career with the Hoosiers.

    In 2003, Huber captured a "clean sweep" of the Big Ten Conference diving awards. Sara Hildebrand was named Big Ten Women's Diver of the Year and the Diver of the Championship. Marc Carlton also earned Big Ten Diver of the Year honors and the Co-Diver of the Championship award. Huber was named the Big Ten Men's and Women's Diving Coach of the Year.

    Additionally, Huber sent four divers to the NCAA Championship in 2003. Sara Hildebrand, Cassandra Cardinell, Lori Matthys and Marc Carlton all earned All-America honors at the event.

    At the national level, Huber's U.S. Diving resume is extensive. He has coached the Indiana diving program to 10 (four indoor, six outdoor) U.S. Diving Combined Team National Championships, with the 10th earned this past August. In 2003, Huber was also inducted into the State of Indiana Swimming and Diving Wall of Fame.

    At the 2000 and 2003 U.S. National Indoor Diving Championships, Huber received the Coach's Award of Excellence based on the performance of his divers. At the past eight consecutive U.S. National Championships, six different former or current IU divers have received the Athlete's Performance Award.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties