Men's Swimming

    Hoosiers Aim to Defend Title at Big Ten Swimming and Diving Championships

    Go Hoosiers! Todd Patrick and the Hoosiers will begin their Big Ten title defense on Friday, Feb. 16.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Todd Patrick and the Hoosiers will begin their Big Ten title defense on Friday, Feb. 16.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 14, 2007

    Big Ten Championships Notes in PDF Format (02-14-07)
    Download Free Acrobat Reader

    Dates: Feb. 16-18
    Meet: Big Ten Championships
    Location: Columbus, Ohio
    Facility: McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion

    Indiana will look to defend its 2006 Big Ten title this weekend, as the Hoosiers will be seeking league title No. 25. The Big Ten Championships will take place this year in Columbus, Ohio, from Feb. 16-18, as the start was pushed back one day due to severe weather in the Midwest. The meet promises to be an intense affair, as six Big Ten teams are ranked in the Top 25 Poll.

    The Hoosiers broke a 21-year title drought by winning the Big Ten Championships in Bloomington last season. Indiana accumulated 760.5 points over the course of the meet to easily outdistance second-place Minnesota, who accrued 652 points.

    Kevin Swander (100-yard breaststroke), Taylor Roberts (one-meter) and Brian Mariano (platform) won individual events for the Hoosiers, while Ben Hesen, Swander, Thomas Clavier and Todd Patrick combined for a win in the 200-yard medley relay.

    The Hoosiers came away from the 2006 Big Ten Championships with a good amount of hardware. Ray Looze was named the Big Ten Swimming Coach of the Year, while Swander was named Swimmer of the Championships. Mariano was named Co-Diver of the Year and Diver of the Championships, while Nick Walkotten was named Freshman of the Year.

    The Hoosiers are ranked 11th in the Collegiate Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) Top 25 Poll, its highest ranking of the season. Other Big Ten teams in the poll are Northwestern (6), Minnesota (10), Michigan (12), Ohio State (13) and Purdue (18). LAST TIME OUT Purdue earned a 125-118 win over the Hoosiers in West Lafayette on Jan. 27, ending the Hoosiers' regular season with a loss.

    The Hoosiers were undone by a trio of costly disqualifications, and Purdue took full advantage. IU opened the meet with a pair of DQs in the 400-yard medley relay, putting itself down from the get-go. Ben Hesen was later disqualified in the 200-yard backstroke, an event he has fared very well in on the season.

    Indiana got a pair of wins each from Alex Brunfeldt and Todd Patrick, while freshman Matt Lenton took the 50-yard freestyle and led off the victorious 400-yard freestyle relay. Overall, the Hoosiers won seven events on the day.

    Brunfeldt won the 1,000-yard freestyle and 500-yard freestyle, while Patrick won the 200-yard individual medley and the 100-yard freestyle. Lee Houchin, Hesen and Nick Walkotten joined Lenton on the 400 free relay, while Taylor Roberts won the three-meter and Pat Penoyar took the 200-yard breaststroke.

    Junior Todd Patrick was named Big Ten Swimmer of the Week on Jan. 9 after winning four events in leading IU to a win over No. 14 Ohio State on Jan. 6. For their efforts against Northwestern and Arizona State on Oct. 27 and Oct. 28, respectively, juniors Ben Hesen and Taylor Roberts both earned weekly recognition. Hesen was named's National Collegiate Swimmer of the Week on Nov. 1, while Roberts was named the Big Ten Diver of the Week on Oct. 31.

    Taylor Roberts earned his second Big Ten Diver of the Week nod on Nov. 21 after winning both springboards at the IU Open Invitational. Roberts turned in a score of 331.55 to take the championship final of the one-meter, and won the three-meter championship round with a score of 350.25. Roberts picked up his third Big Ten Diver of the Week award of the season on Jan. 16. After missing the Ohio State meet due to injury, Roberts returned after a week off and did not miss a beat, sweeping both springboards in the Hoosiers' tie with No. 12 Michigan. Roberts was sharp in the meet, missing his personal best in the one-meter by just 3.01 points with a score of 359.32. His score of 377.40 in the three-meter ranked as the ninth-best in IU's storied history. He capped the season by earning the distinction again on Jan. 30 after winning the three-meter at Purdue.

    TO BE THE BEST ...
    The Hoosiers have hardly shied away from tough competition this season. Eight of IU's nine opponents this year were ranked inside the top 20 of the CSCAA Poll, while all four losses have come against top-20 teams. IU opened the season with a win over No. 18 Kentucky on Oct. 21, then fell to No. 8 Northwestern on Oct. 27. The Hoosiers rebounded with a win over No. 19 Arizona State the following day, then dropped a double dual against No. 3 Texas and No. 4 Cal on Nov. 3-4. Indiana picked up a win over No. 14 Ohio State on Jan. 6, then followed that with a tie at No. 12 Michigan on Jan. 13. The Hoosiers closed the regular season with a narrow loss at No. 18 Purdue on Jan. 27.

    Junior Ben Hesen has posted the Hoosiers' lone NCAA "A" cut so far this season. Hesen claimed a spot at the 2007 NCAA Championships in Minneapolis by turning in an automatic qualifying time of 47.24 in the 100-yard backstroke against Northwestern on Oct. 21. Hesen earned his cut in spectacular fashion, swimming to a tie with two-time defending 100 back national champion Matt Grevers of NU. Hesen (200-yard backstroke), Alex Brunfeldt (1,650-yard freestyle), John Kevin Koehler (1,650 free), Todd Patrick (200-yard individual medley) Pat Penoyar (200-yard breaststroke) and Steffan Troxel (1,650 free) have all earned NCAA "B" cuts on the season, as has the 200-yard medley relay squad of Hesen, Penoyar, Matt Lenton and Patrick and the 200-yard freestyle unit of Patrick, Lenton, Nick Walkotten and Hesen.

    All five IU divers - Will Bohonyi, David Legler, David Piercy, Justin Montrie and Taylor Roberts - have surpassed NCAA Zone diving standards this year.

    Twenty-one years after its last title, Indiana finally returned to the top of the heap in the Big Ten in 2006. IU led the Big Ten Championships from the first day of competition, eventually compiling 760.5 team points to run away with the team crown. The title was the 24th in program history, but the first since 1985. This year the Hoosiers will look to go back-to-back for the first time since IU won three straight from 1982-85. Indiana won an unprecedented 20 straight Big Ten titles from 1961-80.

    Freshman Matt Lenton claimed the 50-meter short course national title at the Telstra Australian Short Course Championships in August. The Perth native turned in a time of 22.14 for his first national championship.

    The Hoosiers welcomed 15 newcomers to the men's roster this season. Thirteen of them are freshmen, while junior Patrick Penoyar transferred in from Washington and Matt Lenton enrolled in January 2006 and is sophomore academically, but a freshman athletically.

    Indiana will return to action when it hosts the IU Last Chance Invitational on Feb. 24 at 10 a.m. at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties