Men's Swimming

    UPDATE: Big Ten Championships Day 2

    Go Hoosiers! Eric Ress has qualified for tonight's championship final in the 200 individual medley after setting a school record of 1:44.07 in prelims.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Eric Ress has qualified for tonight's championship final in the 200 individual medley after setting a school record of 1:44.07 in prelims.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 24, 2011

    Photo Gallery


    500 Freestyle

    The Hoosiers put three swimmers in the championship final of the 500 freestyle. Indiana went 1-2-3 in the sixth heat with Ryan Hinshaw first (4:18.33 - career best), Jim Barbiere second (4:20.62 - career best) and Titus Knight third (4:20.98 - career best). Illya Larin and Alex Kotliarsky both posted career bests in their heats with Larin touching in 4:22.26 and Kotliarsky in 4:25.35. Both are NCAA provisional marks and Larin earned a spot in the consolation final. John Schnittker was third in his heat after posting a season best of 4:27.17. Patrick Scally also finished third in his heat with a career-best time of 4:28.63.

    200 Individual Medley
    Eric Ress was the second-fastest qualifier in the 200 individual medley with a school-record time of 1:44.07. He tops the old mark of 1:44.31 set by Todd Patrick in 2008. Cody Weik (12th-1:46.95), Cody Miller (14th-1:47.71) and Sam Trahin (16th-1:48.06) will all swim the consolation final, with Miller and Trahin putting up career times. Austin Steel finished 34th in a career-best time of 1:50.95.

    50 Freestyle
    Bryan Chovanec took second in his heat with a time of 19.93, while Daniel Kanorr posted a career best and NCAA B cut of 20.25 in the same heat. Ante Zoricic was 1/100th of a second out of first place in his heat with a season-best time of 19.96. Chovanec and Zoricic will swim in the championship final tonight after finishing fourth and sixth, respectively. Kanorr placed 21st overall and will swim the bonus final.

    1-Meter Diving

    Indiana placed three divers in the championship final. Mick Dell'Orco qualified second with a career-best score of 378.80. David Piercy finished fourth in prelims (354.85) and Zac Nees sixth (339.45). With a final dive that scored 67.50 points, Casey Johnson moved up to ninth and will dive in the consolation final. Joining him will be Darian Schmidt (297.90) and Emad Abdelatif (290.50).

    Conor Murphy just missed out on the scoring round with a career-best 288.95 points, good for 17th place. Kyle Frebel took 22nd with a career best 256.10.

    500 Freestyle
    1. Ryan Hinshaw - 4:18.33 (NCAA B Cut; career best)
    6. Jim Barbiere - 4:20.62 (NCAA B Cut; career best)
    8. Titus Knight - 4:20.98 (NCAA B Cut; career best)
    12. Illya Larin - 4:22.26 (NCAA B Cut; career best)
    18. Tyler Shedron - 4:23.53 (NCAA B Cut; career best)
    24. Andrew Taylor - 4:25.30 (NCAA B Cut)
    25. Alex Kotliarsky - 4:25.35 (NCAA B Cut; career best)
    34. John Schnittker - 4:27.17 (season best)
    38. Patrick Scally - 4:28.63 (career best)

    200 Individual Medley
    2. Eric Ress - 1:44.07 (NCAA B Cut; school record)
    12. Cody Weik - 1:46.95 (NCAA B Cut; season best)
    14. Cody Miller - 1:47.71 (NCAA B Cut; career best)
    16. Sam Trahin - 1:48.06 (NCAA B Cut; career best)
    34. Austin Steel - 1:50.95 (career best)

    50 Freestyle
    4. Bryan Chovanec - 19.93 (NCAA B Cut)
    6. Ante Zoricic - 19.96 (NCAA B Cut; season best)
    21. Daniel Kanorr - 20.25 (NCAA B Cut; career best)

    1-Meter Diving

    2. Mick Dell'Orco - 378.80 (career best)

    4. David Piercy - 354.85

    6. Zac Nees - 339.45

    9. Casey Johnson - 319.80

    13. Darian Schmidt - 297.90

    16. Emad Abdelatif - 290.50 (career best)

    17. Conor Murphy - 288.85

    22. Kyle Frebel - 256.10 (career best)




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties