Men's Swimming

    No. 7 Indiana Heads to West Lafayette for Big Ten Swimming and Diving Championships

    Go Hoosiers! Senior and team captain Matt Lenton will lead the Hoosiers into the 2009 Big Ten Swimming and Diving Championships this weekend.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Senior and team captain Matt Lenton will lead the Hoosiers into the 2009 Big Ten Swimming and Diving Championships this weekend.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 25, 2009

    Indiana at Big Ten Championships- Meet Notes Get Acrobat Reader | Results


    Feb. 26-28

    Boilermaker Aquatic Center
    West Lafayette, Ind.
    2008 Finish: 2nd (855 points)

    Teams: No. 4 Michigan, No. 7 Indiana, No. 9 Ohio State, No. 11 Minnesota, No. 14 Purdue, No. 20 Penn State, Iowa, Michigan State, Northwestern, Wisconsin

    • Indiana is in search of its 25th Big Ten team title and its first since 2006 as it travels to West Lafayette, Ind., Feb 26-28.
    • Since Big Ten competition began, Indiana has racked up 198 individual swimming titles, 45 relay titles and 34 diving titles.
    • Sophomore diver Landon Marzullo is the only returning individual Big Ten champion for the Hoosiers, having won the one-meter and three-meter springboard crowns in 2008.
    • Senior Matt Lenton was a member of last year's 200-yard medley relay championship team.

    • Indiana finished the season with a 6-3 dual meet record, including four-straight wins to end the season. The Hoosiers' only losses came at the hands of top-five teams Michigan (twice) and Texas.
    • The Hoosiers closed out the regular season on Feb. 7 with a thrilling 156-144 dual meet victory at in-state rival Purdue.
    Bart Ginocchio bettered his career best in the 1,000-yard freestyle, taking second in 9:06.26.
    Eric Ress posted his second-fastest time of the season in the 100 backstroke with a winning time of 48.64.
    Tyler Lemert won the 100 breaststroke with a career best and NCAA B time of 54.06. Daniel Sliwinski was third with a season-best time of 55.26.
    Matt Lenton continued his winning streak in the 50 free with the second-fastest time in school history, going 19.81.
    • Indiana cemented the dual meet victory when Ante Zoricic, Lenton, Titus Knight and Jim Barbiere combined for a season-best and NCAA B time of 2:56.57.
    • The diving portion of the meet took place on Jan. 24 in Bloomington as both teams had divers competing at the USA Diving Selection Camp. Landon Marzullo took second in the three-meter springboard with 392.25 points. Jonathan Dohring recorded a season-best 311.17 points for a fifth-place finish. Marzullo, Bohonyi and Jonathan Dohring all posted season bests on the platform with Marzullo third (404.85), Bohonyi fifth (343.27) and Dohring seventh (292.12).

    • The College Swimming Coaches Association of America put out their latest national rankings on Feb. 13 and Indiana remains in the No. 7 spot.
    • The Hoosiers were No. 14 in the preseason rankings and stayed there in the second poll on Oct. 31, the third poll on Nov. 14 and the fourth poll on Dec. 5. IU made the jump to No. 8 in the poll released on Jan. 16 and moved up to No. 7 in the Jan. 30 poll.
    • Michigan is the top-ranked Big Ten team at No. 4, followed by the Hoosiers, No. 9 Ohio State, No. 11 Minnesota, No. 14 Purdue, and No. 20 Penn State. Wisconsin and Iowa are in the "also receiving votes" category.

    • Senior Matt Lenton has stepped up his performances in the sprint freestyle in his final season with the Hoosiers.
    • Lenton went a school-record 19.45 on the leadoff leg of the 200 free relay on Jan. 17. Earlier in the meet he had set the school mark with a time of 19.82, breaking his old one of 19.84 set on Jan. 10.
    • In all, Lenton has the four fastest 50 free times in school history, including a 19.81 set at Purdue on Feb. 7.
    • He also recorded a career mark of 43.99 in the 100 free on Jan. 10, the 10th-fastest time in school history.

    • Looze has directed the Hoosiers to six top-four Big Ten finishes in as many seasons at the helm of the Indiana program.
    • Indiana finished third in 2003, fourth in 2004, second in 2005, first in 2006, fourth in 2007 and second in 2008.

    • This season Hoosiers have posted times and scores among the Indiana all-time top 10 in the 50 free (Matt Lenton, Bryan Chovanec), 100 free (Ante Zoricic, Matt Lenton), 200 free (Titus Knight), 1,000 free (Bart Ginocchio), 100 breaststroke (Tyler Lemert), 100 butterfly (A.J. Miller), 200 free relay, 1-meter springboard (Landon Marzullo), three-meter springboard (Landon Marzullo) and Platform (Landon Marzullo).

    2008 BIG TEN RECAP
    • Indiana took second at the 2008 Big Ten Swimming and Diving Championships with a total of 855 points.
    • Senior Ben Hesen shared Big Ten Swimmer of the Year and Swimmer of the Championship honors after taking home Big Ten titles in the 100 butterfly, 100 backstroke and 200 backstroke. He was also part of the victorious 200-yard medley relay team.
    • Six school records were set at the meet:
    200-yard Freestyle Relay: Patrick, Lenton, Hesen, Zoricic    1:18.34  
    200-yard Individual Medley    Todd Patrick    1:44.31
    50-yard Freestyle    Todd Patrick    19.89r
    100-yard butterfly    Ben Hesen    46.65
    200-yard butterfly    Todd Patrick    1:43.73
    200-yard backstroke    Ben Hesen    1:40.85
    • In addition to Hesen's individual honors, Landon Marzullo was named Big Ten Diver of the Year, Big Ten Freshman of the Year and Diver of the Championship.
    • Dr. Jeff Huber was named Big Ten Diving Coach of the Year.
    • Marzullo started off his Big Ten championship career with a bang, winning both the 1-meter (388.55- Big Ten record) and 3-meter (423.55) events. He also placed fourth in the platform (386.40).
    - Hesen clocked a time of 45.92 in winning the 100 back, breaking the old Canham Natatorium time of 46.48 set by Olympian Michael Phelps.
    - He added the 100 butterfly title with a school-record time of 46.38, while Patrick was sixth (47.65).
    - His third individual title came with a record-setting time of 1:40.85 in the 200 backstroke, nearly two seconds better than his old school record.
    - The record-setting 200-yard freestyle relay team of Todd Patrick, Matt Lenton, Hesen and Ante Zoricic placed second with a time of 1:18.34.
    • Patrick took second in the 200-yard individual medley with a school-record time of 1:44.31. He added a second-place finish in the 200 butterfly with a school-record time of 1:43.73.
    • Senior John Kevin Koehler was fourth in the 500-yard freestyle (4:20.75- career best). He went on to finish third in the 1,650-yard freestyle (15:05.47).
    Alex Brunfeldt was fourth in the 1,650-yard freestyle (15:10.80).
    Matt Lenton was seventh in the 50-yard freestyle (19.90- career best).
    Taylor Roberts finished fourth in the 1-meter (343.50 points) and third in the 3-meter (410.70).
    • Freshman Kris Hill was fourth in the 3-meter (408.15), while senior David Legler was sixth (351.15).
    • Legler also took third on the platform (399.60), while Will Bohonyi was seventh (363.75).
    • The 400- yard medley relay team of Hesen, Pat Penoyar, Patrick and Lenton placed second (3:11.29).




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties