Men's Swimming

    Day 3 UPDATE: Big Ten Swim and Dive Championships

    Go Hoosiers! Hoosier fans cheer on the team at this morning's prelims.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Hoosier fans cheer on the team at this morning's prelims.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 25, 2011


    400 Individual Medley

    All three Hoosiers in the prelims of the 400 individual medley posted career bests, led by Cody Weik who won his heat in a time of 3:48.31. Trahin took second in his heat with a time of 3:49.49, while Butler was fourth in 3:50.08. All are also NCAA B cuts. Weik and Trahin will swim the championship final, while Butler will compete in the consolation final.

    100 Butterfly
    Indiana had just one competitor in the 100 butterfly, with Doug Spraul finishing 26th in prelims with a season-best time of 49.22.

    200 Freestyle
    Seven of eight IU swimmers posted career bests in the morning prelims of the 200 freestyle. Titus Knight placed second in his heat with a time of 1:36.02, while Jim Barbiere was fifth in the same heat with a time of 1:37.04. Knight advances to the championship final while Barbiere will swim the consolation final. Tyler Shedron posted an NCAA B time of 1:37.59 (18th), while Andrew Taylor’s 1:38.61 was a new career mark and good for 33rd. Illya Larin also posted a new career time with a 1:39.67 (42nd). John Schnittker went a season-best 1:39.75 (43rd). Alex Kotliarsky and Patrick Scally both posted career bests in their heat with Kotliarsky going 1:40.28 (49th) and Scally 1:41.12 (57th).

    100 Breaststroke
    Cody Miller was the only Hoosier entrant and he finished third in the prelims with a career-best time of 53.70, earning a spot in tonight’s championship final.

    100 Backstroke
    Eric Ress is the top qualifier in tonight’s 100 backstroke final, finishing nearly two seconds ahead of the next competitor. Ress and James Wells went 1-2 in their heat with Ress’ winning time of 45.72, followed by Wells in 47.22 Ress swam a 45.40 in the backstroke on the opening leg of the 400 medley relay last night, setting a new Big Ten meet record. Wells joins Ress in tonight’s championship final. Doug Spraul (12th-48.37) and Ante Zoricic (13th-48.48) qualified for the consolation final. Austin Steel finished 26th in 49.28, with Daniel Kanorr 35th (50.44).



    3-Meter Diving
    For the second-consecutive night, Indiana puts three divers in the championship final, this time in the 3-meter springboard. David Piercy qualified fourth with a score of 379.65, while Casey Johnson was the seventh qualifier at 355.65. Darian Schmidt makes it into the A final after a score of 354.00. Conor Murphy (318.80) and Mick Dell'Orco (314.60) will dive in this afternoon's consolation final. Emad Abdelatif (17th-306.10), Kyle Frebel (18th-304.05) and Zac Nees (19th-300.05) were the next four out.

    400 Individual Medley
    5. Cody Weik – 3:48.31 (NCAA B Cut; career best)
    8. Sam Trahin – 3:49.49 (NCAA B Cut; career best)
    10. Brenden Butler – 3:50.08 (NCAA B Cut; career best)

    100 Butterfly
    26. Doug Spraul – 49.22 (season best)

    200 Freestyle
    6. Titus Knight – 1:36.02 (NCAA B Cut; career best)
    12. Jim Barbiere – 1:37.04 (NCAA B Cut; career best)
    18. Tyler Shedron – 1:37.59 (NCAA B Cut; career best)
    33. Andrew Taylor – 1:38.61 (career best)
    42. Illya Larin – 1:39.67 (career best)
    43. John Schnittker – 1:39.75 (season best)
    49. Alex Kotliarsky – 1:40.28 (career best)
    57. Patrick Scally – 1:41.12 (career best)

    100 Breaststroke
    3. Cody Miller – 53.70 (NCAA B Cut; career best)

    100 Backstroke
    1. Eric Ress – 45.72 (NCAA A Cut)
    4. James Wells – 47.22 (NCAA B Cut; career best)
    12. Doug Spraul – 48.37 (NCAA B Cut)
    13. Ante Zoricic – 48.48 (NCAA B Cut; career best)
    26. Austin Steel – 49.28
    35. Daniel Kanorr – 50.44

    3-Meter Springboard

    4. David Piercy - 379.65

    7. Casey Johnson - 355.65

    8. Darian Schmidt - 354.00

    15. Conor Murphy - 318.80

    16. Mick Dell'Orco- 314.60

    17. Emad Abdelatif - 306.10

    18. Kyle Frebel - 304.05

    19. Zac Nees - 300.05


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties