Men's Swimming

    SWIMMING UPDATE: Weik Sets New Record in 400 Individual Medley

    Go Hoosiers! Fourteen IU swimmers will compete in tonight's events.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Fourteen IU swimmers will compete in tonight's events.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 27, 2009



    Highlights from this morning's prelims on day two of the Big Ten Men's Swimming and Diving Championships:

    400 IM

    Cody Weik set a new IU record with a time of 3:46.95 in his morning swim, breaking the old mark of 3:47.84 set by Steven Murry in 2007. Brenden Butler was fourth in the final heat with a career best of 3:50.40. Both will swim in the championship final tonight. Tony Mattar got the Hoosier off to a rousing start in the morning session by winning the second heat with a time of 3:50.94. That is almost 11 seconds better than his career best heading into the meet and puts him in the consolation final. Aaron Opell was sixth in the third heat with a time of 3:56.16 and makes it into the bonus final.

    100 Butterfly
        Matthew O'Brien topped his career best with a time of 47.69 for fifth in heat four, while A.J. Miller was sixth in the same heat with a time of 47.89. Matt Lenton was sixth in his heat with a lifetime best of 48.08. O'Brien, Miller and Lenton will all swim the consolation heat. Tyler Shedron posted a career-best time o 49.29 to finish third in his heat, while Doug Spraul was fourth in the heat with a time of 49.68

    200 Freestyle
        Titus Knight went a career best 1:36.13 in the final heat for the fastest IU swim of the event. Jim Barbiere cut two seconds off his personal best with a time of 1:37.22 to finish second in heat five. Knight swim tonight's consolation final, while Barbiere will swim the bonus final.. Bart Ginocchio and Ryan Hinshaw both posted career bests in the second heat with Ginocchio fourth in 1:40.99, and Hinshaw sixth in 1:41.69

    100 Breaststroke
        Tyler Lemert was second in heat three with a time of 54.26, while Daniel Sliwinski posted a season best in the same heat with a time of 54.92. Lemert will swim the championship final, with Sliwinski in the bonus final. Heath Tameris placed fourth in heat four with a time of 54.70, while Justin Peterfish was seventh in 55.68. Tameris will swim the consolation final.

    100 Backstroke
        Eric Ress and Doug Spraul both set personal bests in the final heat with Ress second in 47.38, and Spraul sixth in 49.30.  Ress will swim tonight's championship final as the third-fastest qualifier, while Spraul makes it into the bonus final. Ante Zoricic took third in the first preliminary heat with a time of 50.92.

        Landon Marzullo led the way with 430.95 points, while Linus Altman set a career best with a score of 385.30 in the prelims. Both will compete in tonight’s championship final. Will Bohonyi totaled 325.65 points and made it to the consolation final, with Robert Dohring tallying 297.10 points. Jonathan Dohring finished with 284.85 points.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties