Men's Swimming

    UPDATE: Day 2 of Big Ten Men's Swim and Dive Championships

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 28, 2013

    Thursday Prelim Results Get Acrobat Reader

    Update from day two prelims of the 2013 Big Ten Men's Swimming and Diving Championships at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center in Bloomington.

    500 Freestyle
    Jim Barbiere will swim in the championship final of the 500 freestyle tonight after posting a time of 4:18.60, eighth-fastest in the mornings swims. Ryan Hinshaw finished tied for 10th at 4:19.62, putting him in the consolation final. Joining him is Nicholas Schwab, who killed his personal best with a time of 4:19.67, placing 12th and earning a spot in the consolation final. Brent Aarons was 26th in a career-best 4:26.33, while Grayson Smith also posted a career mark (4:26.52-27th). Ryan Downey was 35th (4:28.71), with Ian Boggs 37th (4:29.56-career best) and Michael Mohler 45th (4:31.38-career best).

    200 Individual Medley
    The Hoosiers put four swimmers in the championship final of the 200 IM, led by junior Cody Miller who posted a new school-record time of 1:43.49. That tops his old mark of 1:44.02 set at last year's NCAA Championships. Steve Schmuhl placed fourth with a career best of 1:44.12, and right behind him in fifth was Eric Ress at 1:44.16. Mike Hurley tied for seventh with his career mark of 1:45.09. Sam Trahin placed 17th to earn a spot in the bonus final (1:47.04), while Tanner Kurz was 23rd and will swim the bonus final with a career time of 1:48.68.

    50 Freestyle
    Daniel Kanorr will swim in the championship final of the 50 freestyle after putting up a career-best time of 19.50. That is just 5/100ths of a second off the school record of 19.45 set by Matt Lenton in 2009. James Wells made the bonus final with a career time of 20.18. while Jacob Kelzer tied for 43rd in a career best 20.72. Matt Gerth finished tied for 54th (20.94) and Kyle Johnson was 60th in a career-best 21.19.

    500 Freestyle
    8. Jim Barbiere - 4:18.60 (NCAA B Cut)
    10. Ryan Hinshaw - 4:19.62 (NCAA B Cut)
    12. Nicholas Schwab - 4:19.67 (NCAA B Cut; Career Best)
    26. Brent Aarons - 4:26.33 (Career Best)
    27. Grayson Smith - 4:26.52 (Career Best)
    35. Ryan Downey - 4:28.71
    37. Ian Boggs - 4:29.56 (Career Best)
    45. Michael Mohler - 4:31.38 (Career Best)

    200 Individual Medley
    3. Cody Miller - 1:43.49 (NCAA A Cut; New School Record)
    4. Steve Schmuhl - 1:44.12 (NCAA B Cut; 4th-fastest time in school history)
    5. Eric Ress - 1:44.16 (NCAA B Cut, 5th-fastest time in school history)
    T-7. Mike Hurley - 1:45.09 (NCAA B Cut; Career Best)
    17. Sam Trahin - 1:47.04 (NCAA B Cut)
    23. Tanner Kurz - 1:48.68 (NCAA B Cut; Career Best)

    50 Freestyle
    5. Daniel Kanorr - 19.50 (NCAA B Cut; 2nd-fastest time in school history)
    19. James Wells - 20.18 (NCAA B Cut; Career Best)
    T-43. Jacob Kelzer - 20.72 (Career Best)
    T-53. Matt Gerth - 20.94
    60. Kyle Johnson - 21.19 (Career Best)




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties