Men's Swimming

    Indiana Heads to Zone C Diving Championships

    Go Hoosiers! Freshman David Piercy will be making his NCAA Zone debut for the Hoosiers this weekend.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Freshman David Piercy will be making his NCAA Zone debut for the Hoosiers this weekend.
    Go Hoosiers!

    March 1, 2007

    Zone C Diving Championships Notes in PDF Format (03-01-07)
    Download Free Acrobat Reader

    Dates: March 2-4, 2007
    Meet: Zone C Diving Championships
    Location: Ann Arbor, Mich.
    Facility: Canham Natatorium

    All four Indiana divers will compete at the Zone C Diving Championships at Canham Natatorium on the campus of the University of Michigan on March 2-4. Juniors Taylor Roberts and David Legler, sophomore Will Bohonyi and freshman David Piercy will all be vying for spots at the NCAA Championships in Minneapolis on March 15-17. Seven male divers from Zone C will advance.

    2006 ZONES
    Juniors Taylor Roberts and David Legler are the only members of the current roster that participated at Zones last season, with Roberts taking first on the three-meter, sixth on the one-meter and 13th on the platform and Legler finishing 12th on the platform.

    Indiana junior John Kevin Koehler was the lone Hoosier at the Ohio State Last Ditch in Columbus, Ohio, on Saturday, Feb. 24. Koehler swam in the 1,650-yard freestyle, turning in a time of 15:11.71 to win his time trial and shave nearly three seconds off his season-best time in the event. Koehler did not surpass the NCAA "A" cut of 15:05.87, but his time would have been good enough for an NCAA bid last season.

    Indiana finished the season ranked No. 12 in the final CSCAA Top 25 Poll. The Hoosiers reached as high as No. 11 during the season and were never lower than 15th.

    The Hoosiers finished fourth at the 2007 Big Ten Championships, accumulating 494 points over the course of the three-day meet to finish just one point out of third place behind Ohio State.

    Junior Ben Hesen had a phenomenal meet for Indiana, winning the 100-yard backstroke in 45.52, good for new school and Big Ten records. Hesen had already set the league record in the event on the opening night of the meet, swimming a 45.62 split on the opening leg of the 400-yard medley relay.

    Hesen also broke the school record in the 200-yard backstroke, turning in a time of 1:42.94 to finish third in the event. The Jeffersonville, Ind., native also briefly held the school record in the 100-yard butterfly, turning in a time of 47.32 in the preliminaries of the event, before sophomore Nick Walkotten reclaimed his school standard with a time of 47.21 in the finals to finish second.

    Hesen also swam on a pair of second-place relays, helping both medley relays to runner-up finishes.

    Walkotten had an incredible meet of his own, setting a pair of school butterfly records. In addition to his mark in the 100 fly, Walkotten also lowered his own standard in the 200-yard butterfly, taking second place in 1:43.85.

    Junior transfer Pat Penoyar turned in a solid showing at his first Big Ten meet, finishing second in both breaststroke events and in both medley relays.

    In the dive well, Indiana posted a pair of runner-up finishes. Junior Taylor Roberts was exactly one point from defending his three-meter title, while classmate David Leger finished second on the platform.

    In all, IU swimmers and divers set 46 new career records at the Big Ten Championships.

    Hesen was named to the All-Big Ten First Team, while Legler, Matt Lenton, Todd Patrick, Penoyar, Roberts and Walkotten were named Second Team.

    Juniors Ben Hesen and Pat Penoyar and sophomore Nick Walkotten have each automatically qualified for the NCAA Championships in Minneapolis, Minn., from March 15-17. Hesen has posted NCAA "A" cuts in the 100- and 200-yard backstrokes, while Penoyar has done so in the 200-yard breaststroke and Walkotten has done so in the 200-yard butterfly. In addition, Hesen, Penoyar, junior Todd Patrick and freshman Matt Lenton have posted an "A" cut in the 200-yard medley relay, while Hesen, Penoyar, Walkotten and Patrick have automatically qualified in the 400-yard medley relay. In all, 13 IU swimmers have posted either "A" or "B" cuts this season. Senior Ryan McNeill, juniors Alex Brunfeldt, John Kevin Koehler and Ronald Hehn, sophomores Steffan Troxel, A.J. Miller and Steven Murry and freshman Aaron Opell have all turned in provisional marks in at least one event this season and await their NCAA fates.

    Indiana swimmers took aim at the school record book at the Big Ten Championships from Feb. 16-18, setting seven new school standards. Junior Ben Hesen twice set new records in the 100-yard backstroke, first setting the new school and conference mark with his leadoff leg of the 400-yard medley relay. He followed that up the next day by lowering the record in the 100 back. Hesen also set new school records in the finals of the 200-yard backstroke and prelims of the 100-yard butterfly, but sophomore Nick Walkotten erased Hesen's time in the 100 fly with a faster swim in the finals of the event. Walkotten also established a new benchmark for the 200-yard butterfly, while sophomore Steven Murry eclipsed the 400-yard individual medley record. Murry's new mark erased the oldest school record still on the books, supplanting Brian Barnes' time of 3:49.35, set in 1995.

    Indiana Records Set at Big Tens
    100 back Ben Hesen (45.62)
    100 back Ben Hesen (45.52)
    100 fly Ben Hesen (47.32)
    100 fly Nick Walkotten (47.21)
    200 back Ben Hesen (1:42.94)
    200 fly Nick Walkotten (1:43.85)
    400 IM Steven Murry (3:48.43)

    Junior Taylor Roberts was named the Big Ten Diver of the Week a league-best four times during the season, taking the award on Oct. 31, Nov. 21, Jan. 16 and Jan. 30. Roberts picked up his first award after meets against No. 8 Northwestern and No. 19 Arizona State, while his second came after sweeping the springboards at the IU Open Invitational. Roberts took both springboards again at No. 12 Michigan for his third honor, and capped his season by taking the award after winning the three-meter against No. 18 Purdue.

    Junior Todd Patrick was named Big Ten Swimmer of the Week on Jan. 9 after winning four events in leading IU to a win over No. 14 Ohio State on Jan. 6. Classmate Ben Hesen was named's National Collegiate Swimmer of the Week on Nov. 1 after impressive swims against No. 8 Northwestern and No. 19 Arizona State.

    TO BE THE BEST ...
    The Hoosiers have hardly shied away from tough competition this season. Eight of IU's nine dual opponents this year were ranked inside the top 20 of the CSCAA Poll, while all four losses came against top-20 teams. IU opened the season with a win over No. 18 Kentucky on Oct. 21, then fell to No. 8 Northwestern on Oct. 27. The Hoosiers rebounded with a win over No. 19 Arizona State the following day, then dropped a double dual against No. 3 Texas and No. 4 Cal on Nov. 3-4. Indiana topped No. 14 Ohio State on Jan. 6, then followed that with a tie at No. 12 Michigan on Jan. 13. The Hoosiers closed the regular season with a narrow loss at No. 18 Purdue on Jan. 27.

    Freshman Matt Lenton claimed the 50-meter short course national title at the Telstra Australian Short Course Championships in August. The Perth native turned in a time of 22.14 for his first national championship.

    Indiana will return to action at the Indiana Senior State meet in Indianapolis on March 9-11. After that, the Hoosiers head to the NCAA Championships in Minneapolis on March 15-17.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties