Men's Swimming

    Indiana Divers Compete At NCAA Zone "C" Regionals

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!

    March 14, 2003

    Oxford, Ohio - The Indiana men's and women's diving squads, which are under the direction of Dr. Jeff Huber, competed at the Zone "C" NCAA Diving Regionals this afternoon on the campus of the University of Miami (Ohio). The 1-Meter competition was held for the men, while the women competed on 3-Meter. The meet will conclude Saturday, with the men's 3-Meter and women's 1-meter contested, along with the 10-Meter platform. Despite several impressive performances during today's action, and with several more opportunities remaining on Saturday, Indiana has yet to advance any of its divers to the NCAA Championships.

    In what amounts to a complicated seeding system based on performances at last year's NCAA Championships, Zone "C" schools are limited to four NCAA bids for the men, while nine qualifying sports are available of the women. When an athlete earns a bid, for example finishes first on men's one-meter, he or she competes exhibition in the subsequent events, until the field is filled.

    In today's 1-Meter action for the men, Indiana junior Marc Carlton finished third with 607.00 points, while only one NCAA berth was available in that event. Ohio State's Mitch Richeson finished first with a score of 639.55. The Hoosiers placed five divers among the top nine divers as senior Adam Hazes, freshman Brian Mariano, sophomore Ryan Fagan, and junior Alex Burns finished fourth, sixth, seventh, and ninth, respectively.

    On women's 3-Meter, senior Sara Hildebrand, a 2000 Olympian on platform and the reigning Big Ten champion on all three boards, finished sixth with a score of 454.14, while junior Cassandra Cardinell was ninth (445.95). Iowa's Lisette Planken (474.10) and Nancilea Underwood (472.35) finished first and second.

    The NCAA Women's Swimming and Diving Championships will be held in Auburn, Ala., from March 20-22, while the NCAA Championships for the men will be held in Austin, Texas, one week later.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties