Men's Swimming

    Hoosiers Set for NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships

    Go Hoosiers! Junior Todd Patrick is one of eight Hoosiers that will compete at the NCAA Championships.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Junior Todd Patrick is one of eight Hoosiers that will compete at the NCAA Championships.
    Go Hoosiers!

    March 14, 2007

    NCAA Championships Notes in PDF Format (03-14-07)
    Download Free Acrobat Reader

    Dates: March 15-17, 2007
    Meet: NCAA Championships
    Location: Minneapolis, Minn.
    Facility: University Aquatic Center

    Indiana will send eight swimmers to the 2007 NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships in Minneapolis from March 15-17. Juniors Alex Brunfeldt, Ben Hesen, John Kevin Koehler, Todd Patrick and Pat Penoyar, sophomores Steven Murry and Nick Walkotten and freshman Matt Lenton will represent the Hoosiers at the championship meet.

    Behind the strength of 17 All-America performances, Indiana finished 12th at the 2006 NCAA meet with 115.5 team points for its highest finish since a 12th-place finish in 1989. Kevin Swander headlined the effort with a second-place effort in the 100-yard breaststroke, while Ben Hesen tied for fourth in the 100-yard backstroke. Swimmers Thomas Clavier, Sergiy Fesenko and Todd Patrick each earned All-America honorable mention, while divers Ryan Fagan and Taylor Roberts both earned first team honors.

    Indiana competed at the Zone C Diving Championships in Ann Arbor, Mich., from March 2-4. Despite sending Taylor Roberts, David Legler, Will Bohonyi and David Piercy, the Hoosiers did not qualify a diver for the NCAA Championships for the first time since the 1995 season. Roberts recorded the Hoosiers's highest finish at Zones, coming in fifth on the one-meter. Three IU divers reached the finals of the three-meter, with Roberts taking sixth, Legler 14th and Piercy 16th. Bohonyi and Legler advanced to the finals of the platform, taking sixth and seventh, respectively.

    The Hoosiers have won six NCAA Championships, taking them all consecutively from 1968-73 under legendary Indiana coach James "Doc" Counsilman. IU was one of the most dominant teams in the country in the 1960s and 1970s, and won 20 straight Big Ten titles from 1961-80.

    Indiana finished the season ranked No. 12 in the final CSCAA Top 25 Poll. The Hoosiers reached as high as No. 11 during the season and were never lower than 15th.

    The Hoosiers finished fourth at the 2007 Big Ten Championships, accumulating 494 points over the course of the three-day meet to finish just one point out of third place behind Ohio State.

    Junior Ben Hesen had a phenomenal meet for Indiana, winning the 100-yard backstroke in 45.52, good for new school and Big Ten records. Hesen had already set the league record in the event on the opening night of the meet, swimming a 45.62 split on the opening leg of the 400-yard medley relay.

    Hesen also broke the school record in the 200-yard backstroke, turning in a time of 1:42.94 to finish third in the event. The Jeffersonville, Ind., native also briefly held the school record in the 100-yard butterfly, turning in a time of 47.32 in the preliminaries of the event, before sophomore Nick Walkotten reclaimed his school standard with a time of 47.21 in the finals to finish second.

    Hesen also swam on a pair of second-place relays, helping both medley relays to runner-up finishes.

    Walkotten had an incredible meet of his own, setting a pair of school butterfly records. In addition to his mark in the 100 fly, Walkotten also lowered his own standard in the 200-yard butterfly, taking second place in 1:43.85.

    Junior transfer Pat Penoyar turned in a solid showing at his first Big Ten meet, finishing second in both breaststroke events and in both medley relays.

    In the dive well, Indiana posted a pair of runner-up finishes. Junior Taylor Roberts was exactly one point from defending his three-meter title, while classmate David Leger finished second on the platform.

    In all, IU swimmers and divers set 46 new career records at the Big Ten Championships.

    Hesen was named to the All-Big Ten First Team, while Legler, Matt Lenton, Todd Patrick, Penoyar, Roberts and Walkotten were named Second Team.

    Indiana swimmers took aim at the school record book at the Big Ten Championships from Feb. 16-18, setting seven new school standards. Junior Ben Hesen twice set new records in the 100-yard backstroke, first setting the new school and conference mark with his leadoff leg of the 400-yard medley relay. He followed that up the next day by lowering the record in the 100 back. Hesen also set new school records in the finals of the 200-yard backstroke and prelims of the 100-yard butterfly, but sophomore Nick Walkotten erased Hesen's time in the 100 fly with a faster swim in the finals of the event. Walkotten also established a new benchmark for the 200-yard butterfly, while sophomore Steven Murry eclipsed the 400-yard individual medley record. Murry's new mark erased the oldest school record still on the books, supplanting Brian Barnes' time of 3:49.35, set in 1995.

    Indiana Records Set at Big Tens
    100 back: Ben Hesen (45.62)
    100 back: Ben Hesen (45.52)
    100 fly: Ben Hesen (47.32)
    100 fly: Nick Walkotten (47.21)
    200 back: Ben Hesen (1:42.94)
    200 fly: Nick Walkotten (1:43.85)
    400 IM: Steven Murry (3:48.43)

    Junior Taylor Roberts was named the Big Ten Diver of the Week a league-best four times during the season, taking the award on Oct. 31, Nov. 21, Jan. 16 and Jan. 30. Roberts picked up his first award after meets against No. 8 Northwestern and No. 19 Arizona State, while his second came after sweeping the springboards at the IU Open Invitational. Roberts took both springboards again at No. 12 Michigan for his third honor, and capped his season by taking the award after winning the three-meter against No. 18 Purdue.

    Junior Todd Patrick was named Big Ten Swimmer of the Week on Jan. 9 after winning four events in leading IU to a win over No. 14 Ohio State on Jan. 6. Classmate Ben Hesen was named's National Collegiate Swimmer of the Week on Nov. 1 after impressive swims against No. 8 Northwestern and No. 19 Arizona State.

    TO BE THE BEST ...
    The Hoosiers have hardly shied away from tough competition this season. Eight of IU's nine dual opponents this year were ranked inside the top 20 of the CSCAA Poll, while all four losses came against top-20 teams. IU opened the season with a win over No. 18 Kentucky on Oct. 21, then fell to No. 8 Northwestern on Oct. 27. The Hoosiers rebounded with a win over No. 19 Arizona State the following day, then dropped a double dual against No. 3 Texas and No. 4 Cal on Nov. 3-4. Indiana topped No. 14 Ohio State on Jan. 6, then followed that with a tie at No. 12 Michigan on Jan. 13. The Hoosiers closed the regular season with a narrow loss at No. 18 Purdue on Jan. 27.

    Freshman Matt Lenton claimed the 50-meter short course national title at the Telstra Australian Short Course Championships in August. The Perth native turned in a time of 22.14 for his first national championship.

    While the collegiate season is in the books following the conclusion of the NCAA Championships, the Hoosiers will continue to compete, sending representatives to the Spring Championships in East Meadow, N.Y., from March 27-31 and to the U.S. Spring Diving Nationals in Boyds, Md., from April 15-22.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties