Men's Swimming

    Men's Swim and Dive Heads to NCAA Meet

    Go Hoosiers! Sophomore Cody Miller is the No. 2 seed in the 100 breaststroke heading into the NCAA Championships.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Sophomore Cody Miller is the No. 2 seed in the 100 breaststroke heading into the NCAA Championships.
    Go Hoosiers!

    March 20, 2012

    Postseason Notes Get Acrobat Reader


    March 22-24, 2012
    Weyerhauser King County Aquatics Center
    Federal Way, Wash.


    Thursday: Prelims - 2 p.m. ET/Finals - 10 p.m. ET

    Friday: Prelims - 2 p.m. ET/Finals 10 p.m. ET

    Saturday: Prelims - 2 p.m. ET/Finals 10 p.m. ET


    Thursday's prelims and finals, Friday prelims and Saturday prelims will be streamed live on The finals sessions on Friday and Saturday will be shown live on

    • Indiana sends six swimmers and four divers to the 2012 NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships, March 22-24 at the Weyerhauser King County Aquatics Center in Federal Way, Wash.
    • The Hoosiers are coming off a third-place finish at the Big Ten Championships in Iowa City, Iowa, where they missed out on a second-straight runner-up finish by just 3.5 points.

    Steve Schmuhl: 500 Freestyle, 200 Freestyle, 200 Butterfly, 200 Medley Relay, 400 Medley Relay
    Jim Barbiere: 500 Freestyle, 200 Freestyle, 200 Backstroke, 400 Freestyle Relay
    Cody Miller: 200 Individual Medley, 400 Medley Relay, 100 Breaststroke, 200 Breaststroke, 200 Medley Relay, 400 Freestyle Relay
    James Wells: 400 Medley Relay, 200 Medley Relay, 400 Freestyle Relay, 100 Backstroke, 200 Backstroke
    Sam Trahin: 200 Breaststroke, 400 Individual Medley, 200 Individual Medley
    Daniel Kanorr: 50 Freestyle, 100 Freestyle, 400 Freestyle Relay, 200 Medley Relay, 400 Medley Relay
    Darian Schmidt: Diving
    Mick Dell'Orco: Diving
    Zac Nees: Diving
    Conor Murphy: Diving

    • Indiana is looking to improve upon last year's 18th-place finish at the NCAA meet.
    • Indiana came home with 14 All-America honors in 2011, led by second-place finishes in the 100 back and 200 back from Eric Ress.
    Cody Miller was an honorable mention All-American with a 10th-place showing in the 200 breaststroke.
    • The Hoosiers have posted three top-15 finishes at the national meet under head coach Ray Looze, most recently placing 10th in 2008.
    • Miller is the No. 2 seed in the 100 breaststroke and No. 4 seed in the 200 breaststroke.
    Sam Trahin is the No. 12 seed in the 400 individual medley, while James Wells is the No. 7 seed in the 100 backstroke.

    • The Hoosiers have a storied history at the NCAA meet, winning the team title for six-straight seasons from 1968-1973.
    • During that time Indiana took home 39 individual and relay titles, including eight NCAA titles for Mark Spitz and eight for Gary Hall.
    • Spitz was the NCAA 100 butterfly champion all four seasons at IU (1969-72), and won the 100 fly, 500 free and 200 free at the 1969 meet.
    • Hall was a three-time champion in 1971 (200 IM, 400 IM, 200 backstroke) and a two-time champion (200 IM, 400 IM in 1972).
    • Overall Hoosiers have won 80 individual and relay NCAA titles, most recently with Ben Hesen winning the 100 backstroke crown in 2008.

    • Indiana finished third at the Big Ten Championships with 549 points, just 3.5 points out of second place.
    • The difference maker was the disqualification of the Hoosiers' 400 medley relay team due to an early exchange.
    • Sophomore Cody Miller defended his Big Ten titles in the 100 breast and 200 breast, setting a new school record of 52.34 in the 100 breaststroke.
    • His time of 1:54.07 in the 200 breast was second-best in school history.
    • Sophomore Darian Schmidt shared Diver of the Championship honors after winning the 3-meter springboard with a school-record 459.39 points.
    • Schmidt also took third on the 1-meter and 10th on the platform.
    • Sophomore Conor Murphy was runner up on the platform (426.55), while Zac Nees was sixth on the 1-meter (363.70), fourth on the 3-meter (391.35) and fourth on the platform (391.35).
    James Wells won his first Big Ten title, posting a career-best time of 46.30 in the 100 backstroke. He was also fifth in the 200 back with a career-best time 1:43.83.
    • Wells, Miller, Steve Schmuhl, Daniel Kanorr took fourth in the 200 medley relay with a time of 1:25.79, fourth-fastest in school history.
    • Schmuhl, Jim Barbiere, John Schnittker and Tyler Shedron posted the second-fastest time in school history in the 800 free relay (6:25.85), finishing fourth.
    • Barbiere was fifth in the 500 free (4:18.23-career best) and Miller was fourth in the 200 IM (1:44.81-career best).
    Daniel Kanorr's eighth-place time of 19.83 in the 50 free was a career best.
    Sam Trahin took fourth in the 400 IM, posting a new school-record time of 3:46.49.
    • Barbiere was also fourth in the 200 free (1:35.98-career best), while Ryan Hinshaw took ninth in the 1,650 free with a career time of 15:06.25.
    • The 400 free relay team of Miller, Barbiere, Kanorr and Wells placed fifth in 2:55.60, the third-fastest time in school history.
    • Miller, Schmidt and Wells were first-team All-Big Ten honorees, while Murphy earned second-team honors.
    • Dr. Jeff Huber was named the Big Ten Diving Coach of the Year.

    • Looze has directed the Hoosiers to eight top-four Big Ten finishes in 10 years at the helm of the Indiana program.
    • Indiana finished third in 2003, fourth in 2004, second in 2005, first in 2006, fourth in 2007, second in 2008, second in 2011 and third in 2012.

    • The Hoosiers are without one of their top swimmer this season as junior Eric Ress took the 2011-12 season off to focus on preparation for the French Olympic Trials.
    • The trials run March 18-25 in Dunkirk, France, which would have conflicted with the NCAA meet.
    • Ress will have one season of eligibility remaining in 2012-13.
    • Last season Ress was the Big Ten champion in the 100 back and finished second in the 200 back after breaking his hand in his 100 back finish the night before.
    • Ress came back from the injury to finish second in both the 100 back and 200 back at the 2011 NCAA Championships in Minneapolis.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties