Men's Swimming

    Hoosiers Send 11 to NCAA Championship

    Go Hoosiers! Freshman Cody Miller returns to the pool where he won the 100 breaststroke and 200 breaststroke at the Big Ten Championships last month.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Freshman Cody Miller returns to the pool where he won the 100 breaststroke and 200 breaststroke at the Big Ten Championships last month.
    Go Hoosiers!

    March 22, 2011

    IU at NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships - Complete Notes Get Acrobat Reader

    Live Results

    Live Web Streaming - Friday and Saturday Finals Only


    March 24-26
    University of Minnesota Aquatic Center
    Minneapolis, Minn.

    • Indiana sends nine swimmers and two divers to the 2011 NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships, March 24-26 at the University of Minnesota Aquatic Center.
    • The Hoosiers are very familiar with this pool, having swum the Big Ten Championships there four weeks ago.

    Ryan Hinshaw    500 Freestyle
        1,650 Freestyle
    Jim Barbiere    500 Freestyle
        200 Freestyle
        800 Freestyle Relay
    Titus Knight    500 Freestyle
        200 Freestyle
        800 Freestyle Relay
        100 Freestyle
    Illya Larin    500 Freestyle
        1,650 Freestyle
    Eric Ress 200 Individual Medley
        400 Medley Relay
        100 Backstroke
        800 Freestyle Relay
        200 Backstroke
    Cody Weik    200 Individual Medley
        400 Individual Medley
        800 Freestyle Relay
        200 Butterfly
    Cody Miller    400 Medley Relay
        100 Breaststroke
        200 Breaststroke
    James Wells    400 Medley Relay
        100 Backstroke
    Ante Zoricic    400 Medley Relay
    David Piercy    Diving
    Darian Schmidt    Diving

    • Indiana is looking for an improved finish at this year's NCAA meet after sending just two participants last year, posting a 31st-place finish with four points.
    • The Hoosiers have posted three top-15 finishes at the national meet under head coach Ray Looze, most recently placing 10th in 2008.
    • After taking last year as a redshirt season, sophomore Eric Ress is back and enters as the top seed in the 100 backstroke. Ress won the 100 back at the 2011 Big Ten Championships and finished second in the 200 back, despite swimming with a broken hand. He is the No. 6 seed in the 200 back.
    • Freshman Cody Miller had quite the coming out party at the Big Ten meet, sweeping the breaststroke events with wins in the 100 and 200 breast.
    • He is the only freshman among the top-20 swimmers in the 100 breast and is the No. 6 seed. He is also one of only two freshmen swimming the 200 breast and is the No. 2 seed.

    • The Hoosiers have a storied history at the NCAA meet, winning the team title for six-straight seasons from 1968-1973.
    • During that time Indiana took home 39 individual and relay titles, including eight NCAA titles for Mark Spitz and eight for Gary Hall.
    • Spitz was the NCAA 100 butterfly champion all four seasons at IU (1969-72), and won the 100 fly, 500 free and 200 free at the 1969 meet.
    • Hall was a three-time champion in 1971 (200 IM, 400 IM, 200 backstroke) and a two-time champion (200 IM, 400 IM in 1972).
    • Overall Hoosiers have won 80 individual and relay NCAA titles, most recently with Ben Hesen winning the 100 backstroke crown in 2008.

    • After a disappointing fifth-place finish in 2010, the Hooisers came back to take second at the 2011 Big Ten Championships, finishing with 604 points.
    • It was a pair of underclassmen who led the way for IU in sophomore Eric Ress and freshman Cody Miller.
    • Ress started by setting a new school record in the 200 free (1:34.67) as IU set a new school mark in the 800 Free Relay with a time of 6:21.81, finishing third.
    • The next day Ress took third in the 200 IM with a time of 1:44.58, but set a new school record of 1:44.07 in prelims.
    • Ress then won the 100 backstroke in a new Big Ten meet record time of 45.11. Despite breaking his hand on the final touch of the 100 back, Ress took second in the 200 back on the final day of competition with a time of 1:41.89, the fourth-fastest time in school history.
    • Miller surprised the pool on night two with his win in the 100 breaststroke, clocking a time of 52.90 which is the third fastest in school history.
    • On the final day he made it a double with a win in the 200 breast, barely missing out on the IU record with a time of 1:54.16.
    • In the diving well, sophomore Zac Nees took second on the 1-meter springboard as the Hoosiers placed three divers in the championship final.
    • Senior David Piercy was the top finisher IU in the 3-meter at No. 4, with three IU divers again making the championship round.
    • Freshman Conor Murphy wrapped up his first Big Ten meet with a sixth-place finish on the tower, joining Casey Johnson and Darian Schmidt in the championship final.

    • Looze has directed the Hoosiers to seven top-four Big Ten finishes in nine years at the helm of the Indiana program.
    • Indiana finished third in 2003, fourth in 2004, second in 2005, first in 2006, fourth in 2007, second in 2008 and second in 2011.

    • Sophomore Eric Ress is the defending French national champion in the 200-meter backstroke after winning the crown at the 2010 French Long Course National Championships that April. He also took third in the 100 back at the meet and earned a spot on the French squad for the 2010 European National Championships.
    • At European Nationals last summer, Ress claimed eighth in the 200 back.
    • Ress also won the 200 backstroke title at the 2010 Paris Open.
    • Ress owns the seven-fastest times in school history in the 200-meter backstroke.
    • A dual U.S./French citizen, Ress is the son of Colin Ress, a former IU swimmer and member of the 1976 French Olympic Team.
    • Unfortunately for Ress he will not have the opportunity to defend his long course title or attempt to qualify for this year's World Championships as the French National meet is being held at the same time as the NCAA Championships.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties