Men's Swimming

    IU Great Gary Hall, Sr. Named 2009 U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Nominee

    Go Hoosiers! Fans can vote for Gary Hall, Sr. by visiting
    Go Hoosiers!
    Fans can vote for Gary Hall, Sr. by visiting
    Go Hoosiers!

    April 29, 2009

    Vote HERE

    Release Courtesy of USOC

    NORTHBROOK, Ill. - The United States Olympic Committee (USOC) and Allstate Insurance Company (NYSE: ALL) today announced the nominees for the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Class of 2009.  Among the group is Gary Hall, Sr., who won three medals in swimming while competing in three consecutive Olympic Games from 1968 to 1976, as well as the 1976 U.S. Women 4x100 Freestyle Relay Team, which featured IU All-American Jennifer (Hooker) Brinegar.

    The star-studded nominee list of 15 individuals, five teams and five Paralympians includes Olympic legends such as Teresa Edwards, Valerie Brisco-Hooks, Michael Johnson, Picabo Street, the 1992 Men's Olympic Basketball Team and more.

     The finalists were unveiled today at an event headlined by Allstate chairman, president and chief executive officer, Tom Wilson, along with USOC acting CEO Stephanie Streeter, Chicago 2016 chairman and CEO Patrick Ryan, and U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame member John Naber.

     "The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame celebrates our honorees' commitment to excellence and recognizes Americans who are role models and heroes," said Wilson.  "Each of us can find strength, passion and inspiration in these ordinary people who achieved extraordinary success in the Olympics. They help make us proud to be Americans."

     From now through June 16, fans can cast their votes for the 2009 class of the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame online at .  The inducted class will include five individuals, one team and one Paralympian, as well as three additional individuals: a coach, veteran and special contributor.   The inductees will be revealed in early July and will be honored at a black-tie induction ceremony on August 12 at McCormick Place in Chicago. The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame presented by Allstate is the only national sports Hall of Fame that includes fan voting.

     "The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame honors Olympic and Paralympic legends who have inspired our country for generations, uniting us behind Team USA and giving us role models who epitomize the Olympic ideals," Streeter said. "Allstate's generous support of the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame and dedication to celebrating the accomplishments of America's Olympic and Paralympic greats further illustrates their commitment to the Olympic Movement and America's athletes."

     The August 12 induction ceremony will honor the 2009 U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame class and introduce a new international award - the Olive Branch Award - given to an individual or individuals who best represent the international ideals of the Olympic Games by working to build a peaceful and better world through sport. Also new to 2009, the induction ceremony will feature a special fundraising banquet to benefit Chicago 2016, Chicago's bid to host the 2016 Olympic and Paralympic Games.
    Nominees for the induction class of 2009 were selected by a 10-person nominating committee consisting of athletes, members of the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame, historians, and USOC representatives. Fans can vote by visiting .

     The nominees are:


    Greg Barton, canoe/kayak

    Jeff Blatnick, wrestling

    Valerie Brisco-Hooks, athletics

    Tracie Ruiz-Conforto, swimming

    Teresa Edwards, basketball

    Gary Hall, Sr., swimming

    Michael Johnson, athletics

    Mary T. Meagher, swimming

    Sheila Young Ochowicz, speedskating

    Darrell Pace, archery

    Terry Schroeder, water polo

    John Smith, wrestling

    Picabo Street, alpine skiing

    Peter Westbrook, fencing

    Willye White, athletics


    Jean Driscoll, athletics

    David Larson, athletics

    Greg Mannino, alpine skiing

    Tony Volpentest, athletics

    Sarah Will, alpine skiing


    1976 U.S. Women's 4x100 Freestyle Relay Team

    1992 U.S. Men's Basketball Team

    1996 U.S. Synchronized Swimming Team

    1998 U.S. Women's Ice Hockey Team

    2002 U.S. Women's Bobsled Team

    For more information on the 2009 nominees, including bios and photos, and a comprehensive list of existing U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame members, please visit .

     About the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame

    The charter class of the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame was enshrined in 1983, with such Olympic legends as Cassius Clay, Peggy Fleming, Jesse Owens, Wilma Rudolph, Mark Spitz and the 1980 "Miracle on Ice" U.S. Olympic Men's Hockey Team.  Annual additions continued through 1992, adding Olympic legends such as Bart Conner, Dorothy Hamill, "Sugar Ray" Leonard, Carl Lewis, Greg Louganis, and Mary Lou Retton.

     In becoming the presenting sponsor, Allstate sparked the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame's revitalization in 2004. During the company's five-year tenure as a partner, the Hall of Fame has inducted numerous decorated Olympic athletes including:  Bonnie Blair, Janet Evans, Florence Griffith Joyner, Dan Jansen, Kristi Yamaguchi ,and the 1996 "Magnificent Seven" U.S. Women's Gymnastics Team.  Following last June's induction of the Class of 2008, the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame currently consists of 213 Distinguished Athletes and 13 special contributors.

     About Allstate

    The Allstate Corporation (NYSE: ALL) is the nation's largest publicly held personal lines insurer. Widely known through the "You're In Good Hands With Allstate®" slogan, Allstate is reinventing protection and retirement to help individuals in approximately 17 million households protect what they have today and better prepare for tomorrow. Customers can access Allstate products and services such as auto insurance and homeowners insurance through approximately 14,700 exclusive Allstate agencies and financial representatives in the U.S. and Canada, or in select states at and 1-800 Allstate®. Encompass® Insurance brand property and casualty products are sold exclusively through independent agents. The Allstate Financial Group provides life insurance, supplemental accident and health insurance, annuity, banking and retirement products designed for individual, institutional and worksite customers that are distributed through Allstate agencies, independent agencies, financial institutions and brokerdealers. Customers can also access information about Allstate Financial Group products and services at .

     About the USOC
    The United States Olympic Committee (USOC) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the sole entity in the United States whose mission involves training, entering and underwriting the full expenses for the U.S. teams in the Olympic, Paralympic, Pan American and Parapan American Games. In addition to being the steward of the U.S. Olympic Movement, the USOC is the moving force for support of sports in the United States that are on the program of the Olympic, Paralympic, Pan American and Parapan American Games.
    About Chicago 2016
    Chicago 2016 is a 501(c)(3) corporation whose mission is to seek the privilege of hosting the 2016 Olympic and Paralympic Games in Chicago. The committee's board consists of business, civic, athletic, cultural and academic leaders representing Chicago and the surrounding Midwest region. Patrick Ryan serves as the organization's chairman and CEO.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties