Men's Swimming

    Men's Swimming and Diving to be Honored at Halftime of Sept. 23 Football Game

    Go Hoosiers! Indiana's 2006 Big Ten title was its first since 1985.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Indiana's 2006 Big Ten title was its first since 1985.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Sept. 19, 2006

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Indiana's 2006 Big Ten champion men's swimming and diving team will be honored during the second quarter of the Hoosiers' Sept. 23 football game against Connecticut.

    Indiana Director of Athletics Rick Greenspan will preside over the ceremony, which will take place on the goal line of the North end zone during a timeout in the second quarter.

    The Hoosiers posted 760.5 points at the 2006 Big Ten Championships in February to easily outdistance second-place Minnesota, which turned in a score of 652. The team title was Indiana's first since the 1985 season, a span of 21 years. Indiana's championship was the 24th in program history.

    Individual gold medalists for the Hoosiers at the championship meet were swimmer Kevin Swander and divers Brian Mariano and Taylor Roberts. Swander picked up his title in the 100-yard breaststroke in 52.64, while Mariano won the platform with 391.85 points and Roberts took the three-meter with 396.00 points.

    Indiana's 200-yard medley relay unit of Ben Hesen, Swander, Thomas Clavier and Todd Patrick also took gold for the Hoosiers, combining to post a time of 1:25.73.

    Head coach Ray Looze was named the Big Ten Swimming Coach of the Year at the meet, while Swander was tabbed Swimmer of the Championships. Mariano was named Diver of the Championships, and was Co-Diver of the Year. Swimmer Nick Walkotten was voted Big Ten Freshman of the Year.

    For their performances, Clavier, Hesen, Mariano, Patrick, Roberts and Swander all earned spots on the All-Big Ten First Team, while Sergiy Fesenko and Walkotten were named to the All-Big Ten Second Team.

    The football game will be televised by ESPN Plus Local, and is set for a 3:30 p.m. kickoff.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties