Men's Swimming

    Dr. Jeff Huber Wins USA Diving Mike Peppe Award

    Go Hoosiers! Dr. Jeff Huber is the winner of USA Diving's Mike Peppe Award for the 10th time in his career.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Dr. Jeff Huber is the winner of USA Diving's Mike Peppe Award for the 10th time in his career.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Sept. 20, 2010


    USA Diving announced Saturday night that Indiana University head diving coach Dr. Jeff Huber was named the Mike Peppe Award winner, given to the outstanding senior diving coach. It is the third-straight season, and 10th time in his career that Huber has received the award.

        Indiana Diving won the team title at the AT&T National Diving Championships, where sophomore Amy Cozad won a national title in synchronized 10-meter with freshman Laura Ryan. Indiana divers also won three national titles at the USA Diving Winter National Championships, where two of Huber’s divers also won silver medals, including Amy Korthauer, who went on to represent the U.S. at the FINA World Cup.

        “As I have said in the past, this is really an award for the divers and recognition of their hard work, dedication, and faith in the program,” Huber said. “Given the temporary retirement of Christina Loukas, I challenged the younger divers to step up and take their places among the best in the country.  It was exciting to see them respond to the challenge. Our men scored 100 points more than last year. Mick Dell’Orco finaled on 1-meter, Casey Johnson finaled on 10-meter, and Zac Nees and Darian Schmidt finaled on 3-meter synchro.  On the women’s side, Amy Cozad finaled on 10-meter as did Logan Kline on 1-meter.  If we could have counted the points from our incoming freshmen (Schmidt and Laura Ryan), we would have won both the men’s and women’s team titles. We are already looking toward Winter Nationals.”

        In addition, IU grad Russ Bertram, the aquatics director at the University of Arizona, was awarded the Phil Boggs award, which honors those who have achieved individual excellence in diving and have given back a part of themselves to assure the sport’s continuation and success. Bertram, who won five national titles during his competitive days, was instrumental in the success of three major championships hosted on the Arizona campus in 2010 - the FINA World Junior Diving Championships, the USA Diving Junior National Championships and the USA Diving Age Group National Championships. Bertram served as a judge at the 2008 U.S. Olympic Team Trials - Diving and was a team administrator for USA Diving during the 2000 and 2004 Olympic Games.

    USA Diving contributed to this report




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties