Men's Swimming

    Hoosiers Set to Start Season with Intrasquad

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!

    October 10, 2003

    Bloomington, Ind. - The Indiana men's swimming and diving team will compete in their season opening Cream and Crimson intrasquad meet. The meet will be held at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center at 9:00 a.m. on Saturday.

    The two squads will face off in a 13-event meet. The events in this season's Cream and Crimson meet will be the 50, 100, 200, 500 and 1000 freestyles, the 100 butterfly, the 200 IM, the 100 backstroke, the 100 breaststroke, the one and three-meter diving events as well as the 200 freestyle and 200 medley relays.

    In last season's intrasquad affair, the Cream downed the Crimson, 105-75. The Cream was led by the efforts of returning juniors Murph Halasz and Richard Bryant. Both Hoosiers won two individual events, with Halasz taking home wins in the 200 IM and 100 breaststroke, and Bryant winning both the 200 and 500 freestyles.

    Last season, the Hoosiers took third at last season's Big Ten Championships with 455 points. The third-place finish is the best since 1997 and the 455 points are the best since the 1991 championships. IU improved 151 points from the 2002 season, when they placed seventh.

    Indiana also capped off a solid year in dual meets with a record of 7-1 and 5-1 in conference. The Hoosiers finished the year ranked 22nd by the CSCAA. IU's lone dual meet loss came at the hands of fourth-ranked Michigan.

    Indiana diving captured its 10th-straight U.S. National Diving Combined Team Championship in 2003. The Hoosier men placed third at U.S. Nationals. Head diving coach Jeff Huber was named the Mike Peppe Award winner for the sixth straight time. The Mike Peppe Award is given to the U.S. Diving National Coach of the Year. He was also recognized as the Coach of Excellence Award winner at the U.S. Nationals over the summer.

    Senior Marc Carlton earned All-America honors on both the three-meter and 10-meter platform at the NCAA Championships. He was also recognized as the Big Ten Diver of the Year and co-Big Ten Diver of the Championships after winning the one-meter Big Ten title.

    The Intrasquad Cream and Crimson lineups are as follows:

    Freshman Mike Anderson
    Sophomore Hank Baldwin
    Junior Brian Ellsworth
    Junior Ryan Fagan
    Junior Murph Halasz
    Freshman Lee Houchin
    Freshman Matt Jensen
    Senior Matt Leach
    Freshman Matt Maley
    Sophomore Brian Mariano
    Freshman Ryan McNeil
    Senior Mike Payne
    Freshman Taylor Roberts
    Freshman Colin Russell
    Freshman Daniel Schrider
    Freshman Paul Sigfusson
    Freshman Scott Wetzel
    Senior Claes Andersson
    Junior Richard Bryant
    Senior Alex Burns
    Senior Marc Carlton
    Junior Thomas Clavier
    Freshman Jesse Cleaver
    Freshman Benjamin Fay
    Senior Adam Goff
    Junior Temujin Gold
    Sophomore Mike Jones
    Junior Niles Madison
    Junior Brian Metzler
    Freshman Drew Ossakow
    Freshman Brandon Rector
    Freshman Kyle Ruth
    Sophomore Kevin Swander
    Junior David Winck




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties