Men's Swimming

    IU Swimming and Diving Opens Season With Tennessee, Kentucky

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!

    Oct. 22, 2011

    This Weekend

    • The Indiana men's and women's swimming and diving teams will open the 2011-12 season with a double dual meet against Tennessee and Kentucky on Saturday, Oct. 22 at the Jones Aquatic Center in Knoxville, Tenn.
    • The women's dual meet will begin at 10 a.m. ET, while the men's meet gets underway at 12:45 p.m. ET.
    • Fans can watch the meet live at
    • This weekend also serves as the season opener for Tennessee and Kentucky.
    About the Hoosier Women
    • Indiana will set its sights on its fourth-straight Big Ten title after winning the conference crown in 2009, 2010 and 2011.
    • The Hoosiers will be led by a strong group of seniors, including Allysa Vavra, Margaux Farrell and Brittany Strumbel.
    • Vavra is the reigning Big Ten champion in the 200 individual medley and 400 individual medley. She is a member of the 2011-12 USA Swimming National Team in the 400 IM and recently earned a bronze medal in the 400-meter IM at the 2011 Pan Am Games.
    • Farrell won the 200 free at the 2010 Big Ten Championships and is a 10-time All-American.
    • Strumbel is the Big Ten record holder in the 200 freestyle, set at last year's Big Ten meet with a time of 1:43.93. She also finished as runner-up in the 500 free and 200 free.
    • In the diving well, sophomore Laura Ryan is the defending Big Ten champion on the platform. Junior Amy Cozad earned All-America honors on the platform at the 2011 NCAA Championships with a ninth-place finish and is currently representing Team USA at the Pan Am Games.
    About the Hoosier Men
    • The Hoosiers will be led by sophomore Cody Miller, juniors Ryan Hinshaw, Jim Barbiere and senior Cody Weik.
    • Defending 100 back Big Ten Champion and NCAA runner-up in the 100 and 200 back Eric Ress will take a redshirt season in order to prepare for the French Olympic Trials in March.
    • Miller is the reigning Big Ten champion in the 100 breaststroke and 200 breaststroke. He earned All-America honors in the 200 breast at the 2011 NCAA Championships with a 10th-place finish. He owns three of the five fastest times in school history in the 200 breast and has the third-fastest IU time ever in the 100 breast.
    • Hinshaw earned All-America honors in the 500 free at the 2011 NCAA Championships and set a new career best in the 1,650 free at the meet (15:08.58).
    • Barbiere earned All-America honors in 2011 as a member of the 800 freestyle relay, while also competing in the 500 free, 200 free and 400 free relay at the NCAA Championships.
    • Weik earned All-America honors in the 200 medley relay and 800 free relay at the 2011 NCAA Championships. He also qualified for the meet in the 200 individual medley, 400 individual medley and 200 butterfly.
    • In the diving well, Indiana returns sophomore Darian Schmidt who qualified for the 2011 NCAA Championships, competing in the 1-meter and 3-meter springboard. He finished fifth on the 3-meter springboard at the Big Ten Championships.
    • Junior Zac Nees was a runner-up on the 1-meter at Big Tens.
    About The Coaches
    • Ray Looze enters his seventh year at the helm of both the men's and women's swimming programs and his 10th year of mentoring the men at Indiana University.
    • Looze has guided the women to four Big Ten titles in his seven years at the helm of the program and led the men to a Big Ten crown in 2006.
    • Diving coach Dr. Jeff Huber is in his 23rd season at Indiana. He has been recognized as the Big Ten Coach of the Year on 13 occasions (six for women's and seven for men's) and has coached student-athletes to 41 Big Ten titles and 18 Big Ten Divers of the Year in his 22-year tenure at IU.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties