Men's Swimming

    Hoosiers Open Big Ten Dual Meet Season

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!

    October 24, 2002

    Bloomington, Ind. -The Hoosiers will host the Michigan State Spartans on Friday at 5:00 p.m. in the Counsilman Billingsley Aquatic Center. the meet will mark the open to the 2002-03 dual meet Big Ten Season. The meet will be the Hoosiers second of the season, while Michigan State will race for the first time this season.

    The meet will mark the first Big Ten Conference meet for head coach Ray Looze, Jr. Looze took over the Hoosier program in June.

    Meet Information

    The Hoosiers will open the Big Ten season when they host the Michigan State Spartan on Friday, Oct. 25 at 5:00 p.m. The meet will be the held at the Counsilman Billingsley Aquatic Center.

    The two schools have not swam against one another since the 1999-00 season. On Jan. 30, the Hoosiers downed the Spartans 148-95 at Michigan State. Indiana owns an all-time record of 35-15 against Michigan State and a 21-7 mark in Bloomington

    Reviewing Last Week

    The 2002-03 Indiana men's swimming and diving team opened the season last weekend with the intersquad Cream and Crimson on Friday and playing host to Evansville on Saturday.

    The Cream squad proved superior to Crimson squad 105-75. The Cream won seven of 10 events, including both relays to propell them to victory. For the Cream, sophomore Murph Halasz and junior Dale Ramsy were both triple-winners, while sophomore Richard Bryant won both the 200 and 500 freestyles. Juniors Mike Payne and Matt Leach and sophomore Jonathon Burgess led the way for the Crimison picking up individual victories.

    The Hoosiers dominated the out-manned Evansville Purple Aces on Saturday, 135-106. The Hoosiers won all 16 events. Senior Dave Schulze led the Hoosier cause winning three individual events (100 breast, 200 breast, and 400 IM) and was part of the winning 200 medley relay. Halasz was won both the 100 and 200 fly and was part of the 200 medley relay. Leach won both backstorke events, along with being a part of the 200 medley relay. Ramsy won the 50 and 100 free events and was part of thw winning medley relay. Bryant won both freestyle distance events the 1000 and 500 for IU.

    First Year at the Helm

    Indiana swimming will have a new coach at the helm this season with Ray Looze, Jr. taking over the controls. He spent the last five seasons as Head Swim Coach at the University of the Pacific. Looze was named the Big West Conference Men's Swimming Coach-of-the-Year in each of the last four seasons. This past year, Looze led both the men's and women's teams to Big West Conference championships and subsequently was named the Big West Coach-of-the-Year in both men's and women's swimming. The Pacific women's team, which featured three All-America selections, followed its Big West title with a 15th-place finish at the 2002 NCAA Championships.

    Looze has brough in former Hoosier swimmer Brain Barnes as his assistant. Barnes still holds the school record in the 400 individual medley which he set in the 1994 season. He spent the last four seasons as the head coach of the Lawrence Aquahawks in Lawrence, Kan.

    Nationally Respected

    United States Diving recognized Dr. Jeff Huber, Indiana men's and women's diving coach, as its recipient of the Mike Peppe Award, which is presented to the nation's Outstanding Senior Diving Coach. IT was the fifth consecutive year that Huber was selected as the national coach-of-the-year.

    To say that Huber's coaching accomplishments have reached legendary status certainly isn't hyperbole. The 2000 Olympic diving coach, Huber is a six-time Big Ten Conference Coach-of-the-Year. He has produced 22 Big Ten champions in his 13-year career.

    On the national stage, Huber's U.S. Diving resume is exhaustive. He has coached the Indiana diving program to nine consecutive (four indoor, five outdoor) U. S. Diving Combined Team National Championships, with the ninth coming this past August. The indoor U.S. Diving Combined Team National Championships is no longer held.

    Oh Captain, My Captain

    The Hoosiers are led by team captain and senior Dave Schulze. Schulze is currenlty the school record holder in the 100 breaststroke and stands second on th 200 breaststroke list. He placed fourth in both breaststroke events at the Big Ten Championships in 2002.

    The Barrie, Canada native is the lone senior swimmer for the Hoosiers this year. He will swim the breaststroke and individual medley events for the Hoosiers.

    The Chase Part Two

    Sophomore butterflier Murph Halasz will once again take his aim at Mark Spitz butterfly school record. Last season, Halasz eclipsed Spitz 30-year old 200-yard butterfly record. He did so at the Big Ten Championships with a time of 1:46.68.

    Halasz will look to take aim on the 100 butterfly record this season. Spitz set the mark in 1972 with a time of 47.98. Halasz top time last season was 48.67 at the Big Ten championships.

    Diving Tradition Continues

    Indiana once again will return a good stable of divers. Junior Marc Carlton earned All-America honors last season on the three-meter last season. Carlton placed in all three diving events at the Big Ten Championships. He finished second on the platform, fifth on the one-meter and seventh on the three-meter.

    Adam Hazes returns as the Hoosiers lone diving senior. Hazes placed fourth on the three-meter and eighth on the one-meter at last season's Big Ten Championships.

    Along with Hazes and Carlton, junior Adam Burns qualifed for the NCAA Zone C Diving Meet. Burns also placed 10th at the Big Ten Championships on the three-meter.

    Sprinting to the top

    The Hoosiers maybe the deepest at the sprint freestyle events. Indiana returns two NCAA qualifiers in the 50 free and a 200 free relay that just missed out on the cut after making the NCAA B cut. Indiana returns all four swimmers from the 200 free relay that set the school record last season with a time of 1:19.29. Four returners from that relay are juniors Dale Ramsy, Mike Payne and Claus Andersson and sophomore Nicolas Burgess.

    Andersson and Ramsy both qualified for the NCAA Championships and rank second and fourth respectively on the Hoosier all-time top ten in the 50 free. Andersson beame only the second Hoosier to break 20 seconds when he went 19.93 at the Big Ten Championships. Sam Gasowski holds the school record with a time of 19.91 set in 1996.

    A Little British Spice

    Sophomore Richard Bryant returns for the Hoosiers as the teams top distance man. Bryant, a native of Somerset, England, early on in the season holds three season bests for Indiana. He holds season bests int he 200 free (1:43.75), the 500 free (4:35.36) and the 1000 free (9:25.74).




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties