Men's Swimming


    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!
    ="intrasquad"> October 24, 1997


    The Indiana Men's Swimming team kicked off the season with their annual intrasquad meet at the Counsilman Aquatics Center. The Crimson won by the score of 100-86. The meet came down to the last race with the Crimson holding a narrow five point lead. In the 400 freestyle relay, the final race, Tom Wanezek, Kyle Rusche, Nick Arzner, and Justin Schnute held off the Cream team and sealed the victory for the Crimson with a time of 3:14.62.

    Justin Schnute paced the Crimson with victories in the 50 (:21.25) and 100 (:48.05) freestyle, in addition to his anchor leg win in the 400 free relay. Rob Iglinski, Nick Arzner, and Ben Hunter were also winners for the Crimson. Iglinski won the 200 IM at 1:54.18, Arzner won the 200 free with a time of 1:42.85, and Hunter won the 500 free in 4:39.75.

    The Cream team started out quickly by placing first and second in 200 medley relay. Chris Gage, Ben Hunter, Craig Hertz, and Don Gold won the first race of the meet in a time of 1:38.06. For the Cream team, Jeff Ostermann won the 200 fly (1:54.43), Tom Davis won the 200 breast (2:08.02), and Ken Ackermann won the 200 back (1:56.13).

    In the 50 free, the Crimson took the top three places with Justin Schnute placing first at :21.25, Tom Wanezek second at :21.77, and Don Gold third at :21.88.

    The Hoosiers kick off the regular season at Miami, Ohio on November 7 and the first meet at the Counsilman Aquatics Center is November 15 against Kansas.

    Go back to the INDEX

    Return to Men's Swimming and Diving Page

    Last updated: 29 March 1998
    Copyright 1995, The Trustees of Indiana University




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties