Men's Swimming

    No. 8 Hoosiers Face No. 2 Michigan, No. 5 Texas

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!

    Oct. 25, 2012

    Indiana vs. Texas/Michigan Notes Get Acrobat Reader

    No. 8 Indiana (2-0) at No. 5 Texas/vs. No. 2 Michigan
     Date Friday, Oct. 26
     Time 4:30 p.m. ET
     Location Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center (Austin, Texas)
    Meet Notes Indiana vs. Texas/Michigan Notes Get Acrobat Reader
     Television The Longhorn Network (5-8 ET Live Swimming Events; 8-8:30 Diving Events)
     Live Results
     Social Media @IUSwimming

    • The Hoosiers look to build upon last weekend's momentum as they take on national powers Texas and Michigan on Friday, Oct. 26 in Austin, Texas.
    • The Hoosiers are coming off an SEC sweep, topping Kentucky (196-104) and Tennessee (183-117) in Lexington.
    • Indiana won 13 of 18 events in the meet.
    • Friday's scored meet between the Hoosiers, Longhorns and Wolverines will include the following events:
    1,000 Freestyle
    200 Medley Relay
    200 Freestyle
    100 Backstroke
    100 Breaststroke
    200 Butterfly
    50 Freestyle
    100 Freestyle
    200 Backstroke
    200 Breaststroke
    500 Freestyle
    100 Butterfly
    400 IM
    400 Freestyle Relay
    3-Meter Diving
    1- Meter Diving
    • On Saturday the teams will participate in a non-scored meet with the following events:
    100 Butterfly
    200 Backstroke
    100 Breaststroke
    200 Freestyle
    50 Butterfly
    50 Backstroke
    50 Breaststroke
    50 Freestyle
    500 Freestyle
    200 Butterfly
    100 Backstroke
    200 Breaststroke
    100 Freestyle
    200 Individual Medley

    • Indiana was led by junior Cody Miller in the sweep of Kentucky and Tennessee as Miller won all three individual events and was part of the victorious 200 medley relay.
    • Miller swept the breaststroke, winning the 100 breast (55.82) and 200 breast (2:02.51).
    • He capped the day off with a 200 IM win in a time of 1:50.72.
    • Eric Ress' return to collegiate swimming was successful as the junior joined Miller on the winning 200 medley relay (1:30.43), while also adding wins in the 200 freestyle (1:39.53) and 200 backstroke (1:46.25).
    • Senior Ryan Hinshaw took the 1,000 free (9:25.33), while James Wells touched first in the 100 backstroke with a time of 48.55.
    • Sophomore Steve Schmuhl won the 200 butterfly (1:50.57) and added a second-place finish in the 200 backstroke (1:46.70).
    • Senior Daniel Kanorr was the winner in the 50 free (20.57), and senior Jim Barbiere won the 500 freestyle (4:31.83).
    • In the diving well, junior Darian Schmidt won the 1-meter with a score of 381.10.

    • It is always a battle between two of the most storied men's swimming and diving programs in Big Ten history.
    • In 2011-12, Michigan swept its meetings with IU, winning 216-84 in the double dual with Texas and 166-130 at a January meet in Ann Arbor.
    • That was not the case in 2010-11, as the Hoosiers and Wolverines swam to a 150-150 tie at the Texas double dual.
    • Then the 14th-ranked Hoosiers pulled off the upset over the 8th-ranked Wolverines, taking a 163-137 win in Bloomington.
    • It was the first dual meet win for IU over Michigan since the 1998-99 season.
    • It also marked the first dual meet loss for Michigan since Jan. 27, 2007 against Northwestern.
    • The Hoosiers are 30-43-3 against the Wolverines, dating back to the 1922-23 season.

    • Dating back to the 2004-05 season, Texas is undefeated against the Hoosiers, going 7-0 during that span.
    • Last season the Longhorns topped the Hoosiers by a score of 217.5-82.5
    • The closest contest came in 2009-10 when Texas was victories over IU by a 179-149 score.

    • The Indiana men come in at No. 8 in the first College Swimming Coaches Association of America national rankings released on Oct. 24.
    • The Hoosiers are one of seven teams in the Big Ten ranked in the top 25, joined by No. 2 Michigan, No. 13 Minnesota, No. 17 Penn State, No. 18 Purdue, No. 19 Iowa and No. 25 Wisconsin.
    • This weekend's opponent Texas is ranked No. 5.

    • The Hoosiers have a storied history at the NCAA meet, winning the team title for six-straight seasons from 1968-1973.
    • During that time Indiana took home 39 individual and relay titles, including eight NCAA titles for Mark Spitz and eight for Gary Hall.
    • Spitz was the NCAA 100 butterfly champion all four seasons at IU (1969-72), and won the 100 fly, 500 free and 200 free at the 1969 meet.
    • Hall was a three-time champion in 1971 (200 IM, 400 IM, 200 backstroke) and a two-time champion (200 IM, 400 IM in 1972).
    • Overall Hoosiers have won 80 individual and relay NCAA titles, most recently with Ben Hesen winning the 100 backstroke crown in 2008.

    • Indiana finished third at the Big Ten Championships with 549 points, just 3.5 points out of second place.
    • The difference maker was the disqualification of the Hoosiers' 400 medley relay team due to an early exchange.
    • Sophomore Cody Miller defended his Big Ten titles in the 100 breast and 200 breast, setting a new school record of 52.34 in the 100 breaststroke.
    • His time of 1:54.07 in the 200 breast was second-best in school history.
    • Sophomore Darian Schmidt shared Diver of the Championship honors after winning the 3-meter springboard with a school-record 459.39 points.
    • Schmidt also took third on the 1-meter and 10th on the platform.
    • Sophomore Conor Murphy was runner up on the platform (426.55), while Zac Nees was sixth on the 1-meter (363.70), fourth on the 3-meter (391.35) and fourth on the platform (391.35).
    James Wells won his first Big Ten title, posting a career-best time of 46.30 in the 100 backstroke. He was also fifth in the 200 back with a career-best time 1:43.83.
    • Wells, Miller, Steve Schmuhl, Daniel Kanorr took fourth in the 200 medley relay with a time of 1:25.79, fourth-fastest in school history.
    • Schmuhl, Jim Barbiere, John Schnittker and Tyler Shedron posted the second-fastest time in school history in the 800 free relay (6:25.85), finishing fourth.
    • Barbiere was fifth in the 500 free (4:18.23-career best) and Miller was fourth in the 200 IM (1:44.81-career best).
    Daniel Kanorr's eighth-place time of 19.83 in the 50 free was a career best.
    Sam Trahin took fourth in the 400 IM, posting a new school-record time of 3:46.49.
    • Barbiere was also fourth in the 200 free (1:35.98-career best), while Ryan Hinshaw took ninth in the 1,650 free with a career time of 15:06.25.
    • The 400 free relay team of Miller, Barbiere, Kanorr and Wells placed fifth in 2:55.60, the third-fastest time in school history.
    • Miller, Schmidt and Wells were first-team All-Big Ten honorees, while Murphy earned second-team honors.
    • Dr. Jeff Huber was named the Big Ten Diving Coach of the Year.

    • Looze has directed the Hoosiers to eight top-four Big Ten finishes in 10 years at the helm of the Indiana program.
    • Indiana finished third in 2003, fourth in 2004, second in 2005, first in 2006, fourth in 2007, second in 2008, second in 2011 and third in 2012.



      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties