Men's Swimming

    Hoosiers Complete Day Two Prelims

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!

    November 23, 2002

    Bloomington, Ind. -The Indiana men's swimming team completed the second day of preliminary competition and will look to improve upon its lead after second-place Clemson in tonight's session at 6:00 p.m. IU qualified three guys for the 100 backstroke finals, two for the 400 IM, the 200 free and the 100 breast finals and one for the 100 fly finals.

    The Hoosiers qualified three for the finals of the 100 back. Junior Matt Leach led the way for Indiana as he went 52.30 in prelims to qualify fifth for the finals. Freshman Mike Jones and sophomore Murph Halasz round out Indiana's group in the finals of the 100 back. Jones went 52.66 in prelims, while Halasz went 53.14.

    Three Hoosiers made the consolation heat of the 100 back. Sophomore Val Milkov, junior Claes Andersson and sophomore Nile Madison will represent IU in the consoles. Milkov went 53.27, Andersson went 54.50 and Madison went 54.76 in the prelims. Junior Dale Ramsy will be the lone Hoosiers representative in the 100 back bonus heat.

    Sophomores Richard Bryant and David Winck will lead the Hoosier charge in the 400 IM and the 200 freestyle as the pair qualified for both finals. Bryant went 4:06.00 in the 400 IM and 1:42.75 in the 200 free, while Winck went 4:07.60 in the 400 IM and 1:45.02 in the 200 free.

    The Hoosiers will have four guys in the 400 IM consolation heat. Jones finished 10th in the prelims with a time of 4:12.19. Sophomores Niles Madison and Temujin Gold are the 12th and 13th seeded after prelim swims of 4:17.47 and 4:17.65, respectively. Junior Rob Dabrowski rounds out the Hoosier group in the 400 IM as the 15th seed.

    Indiana also got four guys in the consolation heat of the 200 free. Junior Mike Payne leads the way for the Hoosiers after he went 1:45.61 in his preliminary swim. Sophomores Brian Ellsworth and Nicolas Burgess along with junior Adam Goff round out the Hoosiers lineup in the 200 free. Ellsworth went 1:46.56 in his prelim, Goff went 1:47.55 and Burgess went 1:47.65. Junior Dale Ramsy and sophomores Murph Halasz and David Doerr will represent IU in the bonus heat of the 200 free.

    The Hoosiers also qualified two for the 100 breast finals. Senior David Schulze is the top seed in the event after a preliminary swim of 57.16. Dabrowski finished fifth in prelims with a time of 1:00.02. Sophomore Niles Madison and freshmen Hank Baldwin and James Shanel will be the Hoosier trio in the consolation heat of the 100 breast.

    Halasz will be Indiana's lone representative in the 100 fly finals. He is the fourth seed after going 51.09 in prelims. Sophomore Jonathon Burgess will be the only Hoosier in the consolation heat of the 100 fly. Burgess went 53.16 in prelims. Sophomore Nicolas Burgess and freshman Black Wallace will swim the bonus heat for the Hoosiers.

    The Hoosiers will return to the Counsilman Billingsley Aquatic Center tonight for the second session of the day. The finals will begin at 6:00 p.m. with the finals, consolation, and bonus heats of the 400 IM, 200 free, 100 fly, 100 breast, and 100 back. The finals for the 800 free relay and the 200 medley relay will also take place this evening.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties