Men's Swimming

    Hooosiers Take Second at IU Invite

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!

    November 23, 2003

    Prelim Results
    Finals Results
    Team Results

    Bloomington, Ind. - The No. 24 Indiana men's swimming and diving team wrapped up the Indiana Invitational on Sunday, Nov. 23, claiming second behind No. 18 Pittsburgh. The winning Panthers had 1,156.5 points, while the Hoosiers had 895 points. Missouri was third in the event at 645.5 points, followed by Michigan State (513), Cincinnati (332), Evansville (118), Kentucky (31) and Air Force (21).

    Junior Murph Halasz claimed Indiana's lone individual championship on Sunday, winning the 200-meter butterfly. After placing second to Pittsburgh's Jason Miller in the 100-metet butterfly on Saturday, Halasz came back to take the 200 title in a time of 2:01.47. In the consolation heat of the 200-meter butterfly, Matt Jensen led a quartet of Hoosier freshmen as he won the heat in a time of 2:06.54. The time converted to short course yards was a season-best for Jensen at 1:53.38. Ben Fay was 11th in the 200-meter butterfly, while fellow classmates Scott Wetzel and Scott Tanner were 15th and 16th.

    The Hoosiers capped off the Invitational in style by laying claim to the 400-meter freestyle relay title. The team of junior Dave Winck, seniors Mike Payne and Claes Andersson and freshman Colin Russell won the event in a time of 3:24.15 nearly a second faster than Pittsburgh's `A' relay. The time converted to short course yards was 3:02.92, which was a season-best.

    IU placed four swimmers in the finals of the 200-meter backstroke. Sophomore Mike Jones led the way with a third place finish at 2:03.95. Junior Richard Bryant out-touched teammate senior Matt Leach for fourth place by one-hundredth of a second. Bryant came in at 2:05.58, followed by Leach at 2:05.59. Ben Fay was seventh for IU in a time of 2:07.69. Junior Niles Madison was the lone Hoosier in the consolation finals of the 200-meter backstroke, as he took third in the heat and 11th overall.

    Bryant led the Hoosiers in the 1650-yard freestyle with a fourth place finish. The Somerset, England, native swam a time of 16:10.46. Fellow classmate Temujin Gold won his heat and took sixth in the event with a time of 16:15.94. Freshmen Ryan McNeill and Paul Sigfusson placed seventh and 12th, respectively.

    Sophomores Hank Baldwin and Kevin Swander went 4-5 in the 200-meter breaststroke. Both swam career-best times on the day. Swander qualified third in the prelims of the 200-yard breaststroke with a career-best time of 2:03.77. Baldwin went a 2:19.88 in the 200-meter format in the finals. The time converted to short course yards was 2:05.33. Niles Madison and freshman Dan Schrider took 10th and 13th in the event for IU.

    The trio of Winck, Payne and Andersson placed fourth, sixth and eighth, respectively, in the 100-meter freestyle for the Hoosiers. Russell took 10th in the event by placing second in the consolation heat. Winck and Andersson both swam season-bests during the prelimary competition. Winck came in at 46.13, while Andersson was 46.43.

    The Hoosiers will return to the pool on Dec. 6 when they battle No. 13 Texas A&M. The meet will be at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center at 12:30 p.m. It will also mark the fourth-straight dual meet in which the Hoosiers have taken on an opponent ranked in the top 25.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties