Men's Tennis

    Hoosiers Win Singles and Doubles Titles at Clemson Winter Shootout

    Go Hoosiers! Phillip Eilers wins the singles competition
    Go Hoosiers!
    Phillip Eilers wins the singles competition
    Go Hoosiers!

    Jan. 12, 2008

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The Indiana University men's tennis team had a successful trip at the Clemson Winter Shootout to begin the new year. The Hoosiers crowned both the singles and doubles champions in the round robin format competition.

    Complete Results Get Acrobat Reader

    Redshirt freshman Phillip Eilers arose victorious in all four of his matches to win the singles competition. Eilers rolled to his perfect record, never allowing an opponent to reach four wins in a set. Kevin Galloway came the closest in a 6-3, 6-3 triumph for Eilers in his first match of the competition.

    Senior Thomas Richter followed up Eilers for second place in the tournament with a 3-1 mark. He earned a 6-2, 6-4 win over Gera Boyachienskiy and a pair of victories over Derek Difazio. Richter did take home a tournament crown, however, teaming up with redshirt freshman Lachlan Ferguson for an unblemished 5-0 showing in doubles action.

    The Hoosiers dominated the doubles play, posting a 15-3 overall record. Eilers and Dara McLoughlin went 4-1 while the duos of Michael McCarthy/Jai Yoon and Peter Antons/Santiago Gruter each finished with three wins and one loss apiece.

    McCarthy performed well in singles as well. He bounced back from a loss in his first match to take the next two, both three-set wins. First, was a 6-4, 2-6, 6-3 win over Galloway before defeating Robert Pietrucha, 6-4, 2-6, 6-4.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties