Men's Tennis

    Hoosiers Win Four Titles at Hokie Challenge

    Go Hoosiers! Freshman Isade Juneau won flight G at the Hokie Challenge.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Freshman Isade Juneau won flight G at the Hokie Challenge.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Jan. 24, 2010



    BLACKSBURG, Va. – Indiana won three singles titles and a doubles title after finishing out the Hokie Challenge on Sunday. The Hoosiers got titles from freshmen Josh MacTaggart and Isade Juneau and sophomore Stephen Vogl. Juneau and sophomore Maxime Armengaud also combined for the title in flight D of doubles action. The Hoosiers won four singles matches and two doubles matches on the final day of the tournament.

    MacTaggart won the C flight with a win over Tim Hewitt of Auburn (6-2, 6-2). Juneau won the G flight with a win over Auburn’s Nick Maurillo (6-2, 6-2). Vogl won flight H by beating Oliver Strecker of Auburn (6-4, 6-2).

    Armengaud and Juneau defeated Strecker and Lucas Lopasso 8-3 to win the D flight.

    Also winning for the Hoosiers on the day were Jeremy Langer in flight B and Langer and Lachlan Ferguson in flight B doubles.

    Indiana men’s tennis returns to action on Saturday, January 30, when they take on Columbia in Oxford, Miss. For complete coverage of IU men’s tennis, stay tuned to

    Flight A Singles
    Tim Puetz (Auburn, 3-0) def. Santiago Gruter (Indiana, 1-1) 7-6, 6-1
    Champion: Tim Puetz (Auburn, 3-0)
    Flight B Singles
    Jeremy Langer (Indiana, 2-0) def. Stamchev (Auburn, 1-2) 7-6 (5),1-6, 7-6 (7)
    Champion: Luka Somen (Virginia Tech, 3-0)
    Flight C Singles
    Josh MacTaggart (Indiana, 2-0) def. Tim Hewitt (Auburn, 2-1) 6-2, 6-2
    Champion: Josh MacTaggart (Indiana, 2-0)
    Flight D Singles
    Andy Miles (Auburn, 2-0) def. Maxime Armengaud (Indiana, 1-1) 3-6, 6-1, 6-3
    Champion: Andy Miles (Auburn, 2-0)
    Flight E Singles
    Will Kendall (Indiana, 3-0) def. Alex Sajonz (Auburn, 1-0) 7-6 (5), 6-1
    Champion: Will Beck (VT, 2-0)
    Flight F Singles
    Lucas Lopasso (Auburn, 1-0) def. Alex Van Gils (Indiana, 1-1) 7-6 (2), 6-4
    Champion: Alex Sajonz (Auburn, 2-0)
    Flight G Singles
    Isade Juneau (Indiana, 2-0) def. Nick Maurillo (Auburn, 1-2) 6-2, 6-2 Champion: Isade Juneau (Indiana 2-0)
    Flight H Singles
    Stephen Vogl (Indiana, 2-1) def. Oliver Strecker (Auburn, 2-1) 6-4, 6-2
    Champion: Stephen Vogl (Indiana, 2-1)



    Flight A Doubles
    Puetz/Stomchev (Auburn, 3-0) def. Vogl/Kendall (Indiana, 0-2) 8-4
    Champion: Puetz/Stomchev (Auburn, 3-0)
    Flight B Doubles
    Ferguson/Langer (Indiana, 1-0) def. Mies/Monteiro (Auburn, 0-1) 8-3
    Champion: Re/Jacques (VT, 3-0)
    Flight C Doubles
    Hewitt/Sajonz (Auburn, 1-0) def. MacTaggart/Gruter (Indiana, 1-1) 8-5
    Champion: Somen/Tocci (VT, 2-1)
    Flight D Doubles
    Armengaud/Juneau (Indiana, 2-0) def. Strecker/Lopasso (Auburn, 0-1) 8-5
    Champion: Armengaud/Juneau (Indiana, 2-0)


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties