Men's Tennis

    Penn State Defeats Indiana, 5-2

    Go Hoosiers! Seniors Dara McLoughlin (above) and Thomas Richter won their 10th straight doubles match on Sunday
    Go Hoosiers!
    Seniors Dara McLoughlin (above) and Thomas Richter won their 10th straight doubles match on Sunday
    Go Hoosiers!

    April 20, 2008

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The #41 Indiana University men's tennis team (15-8, 5-5 Big Ten) concluded the regular season slate on Sunday, dropping a 5-2 decision to #42 Penn State (15-10, 6-4). Lachlan Ferguson won his second singles match of the weekend, and his team-high seventh Big Ten singles on the year.

    "Our seniors fought hard today like they have all season long," said Head Coach Randy Bloemendaal. "They have each been perennial starters and will be sorely missed next year."

    Following Indiana's win over #15 Michigan on Saturday, the winning ways continued into Sunday's doubles competition. Both the first and second doubles matches were taken by the Hoosiers, 8-2. Phillip Eilers and Ferguson were the victors at No. 1 while Dara McLoughlin and Thomas Richter recorded their 10th consecutive doubles win. The IU tandem finished the Big Ten regular season with a 9-0 mark in the conference when playing together. Indiana won the doubles point in 18 of 23 dual matches this season.

    Ferguson will enter the postseason having won six of his last eight singles matches, after a 6-3, 6-3 triumph over Penn State's James Dwyer on Sunday. In the No. 2 singles slot, McLoughlin captured a second-set tiebreaker to force a third set and possibly grab another point for the Cream and Crimson. Adam Slagter hit too many big shots in the final set, however, topping McLoughlin 6-1 to end match with a team score of 5-2.

    "Penn State played well today," said Coach Bloemendaal. "They did a good job in singles of stopping our momentum and fought hard all day long."

    No. 1- #62 Michael James (PSU) def. Thomas Richter (IU), 6-1, 6-2
    No. 2- Adam Slagter (PSU) def. Dara McLoughlin (IU), 6-4, 6-7(3), 6-1
    No. 3- Brendan Lynch (PSU) def. Phillip Eilers (IU), 6-4, 6-2
    No. 4- Lachlan Ferguson (IU) def. James Dwyer (PSU), 6-3, 6-3
    No. 5- Eddie Bourchier (PSU) def. Santiago Gruter (IU), 6-2, 6-1
    No. 6- Guillaume St-Maurice (PSU) def. Michael McCarthy (IU), 6-3, 7-5



    No. 1- Phillip Eilers/Lachlan Ferguson (IU) def. Michael James/Brendan Lynch (PSU), 8-2
    No. 2- Dara McLoughlin/Thomas Richter (IU) def. Chris Sherman/Adam Slagter (PSU), 8-2
    No. 3- Eddie Bourchier/James Dwyer (PSU) def. Santiago Gruter/Michael McCarthy (IU), 8-3

    Next up for Indiana is the Big Ten Tournament, starting next Thursday, April 24 in Iowa City, Iowa.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties