Men's Tennis

    Top-Ranked Ill. Downs IU

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!
    CHAMPAIGN, Ill-- Top-ranked and undefeated Illinois was too much to handle as they halted the No. 59 Indiana men's tennis team, 7-0 on Sunday afternoon at the UI Atkinds Tennis Center. The Hoosiers tried to overcome the adversity of being down two players due to injuries, but were unable to hang on to the defending national champions.

    With the loss, Indiana slips to 11-11 overall and 5-5 in the Big Ten. Illinois jumps to 25-0 on the season and 10-0 in conference play. Illlinois also claimed the Big Ten regular season title for the eighth consecutive year.

    The doubles team lineups were once again moved around a little, but the Fighting Illini still managed to take the doubles point after fourth-ranked Brian Wilson/Phil Stolt defeated Neil Kenner/Ryan McCarthy, 8-3, 54th-ranked Ryler DeHeart/GD Jones beat Ryan Recht/Dmytro Ishtuganov. 8-4 and Michael Calkins and Evan Zeder handed Tom Bagnato/David Bubenicek a 8-0 loss.

    With Jakub Praibis out again, Recht was called upon again to take over at No. 1. Recht faced a tough No. 1-ranked Brian Wilson and eventually fell to him, 6-1, 6-4. Also facing a ranked opponent was Neil Kenner at the No. 2 position. Kenner put up a fight, but lost to No. 36 Stolt, 6-1, 6-2. 113th-ranked DeHeart also handed David Bubenicek a 6-0 loss before Bubenicek retired the match.

    McCarthy, who played at the No. 5 spot against GD Jones, was the lone Hoosier to push his match into three sets. McCarthy won the first set 7-5, but lost the last two 6-4, 10-5, respectively.

    Next up for the Hoosiers is the Big Ten Tournament on April 29-May 2 held in East Lansing, Mich. Seedings and times are TBA.

    Full Results from Sunday's match:

    No. 1 Illinois, 7 No. 59 Indiana 0

    1. #1 Brian Wilson (ILL) def. Ryan Recht (Ind.) 6-1, 6-4
    2. #36 Phil Stolt (ILL) def. Neil Kenner (Ind) 6-1, 6-2
    3. Michael Calkins (ILL) def. Tom Bagnato (Ind) 6-3, 6-3
    4. #113 Ryler DeHeart (ILL) David Bubenicek (Ind) 6-0, r et.
    5. GD Jones (ILL) def. Ryan McCarthy (Ind) 5-7, 6-4, 10-5
    6. Evan Zeder (ILL) def. Dmytro Ishtuganov (Ind) 6-4, 5-2

    1. #4 Brian Wilson/Phil Stolt (ILL) def. Neil Kenner/Ryan McCarthy (Ind) 8-3
    2. #54 Ryler DeHeart/GD Jones (ILL) def. Ryan Recht/Dmytro Ishtuganov (Ind) 8-4
    3. Michael Calkins/Evan Zeder (ILL) def. Tom Bagnato/David Bubenicek (Ind) 8-0




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties