Men's Tennis

    Indiana Seeded Fifth at Big Ten Championship

    Go Hoosiers! Senior Neil Kenner and the Indiana men's tennis team will be the fifth seed in the 2006 Big Ten Championship hosted by Minnesota.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Senior Neil Kenner and the Indiana men's tennis team will be the fifth seed in the 2006 Big Ten Championship hosted by Minnesota.
    Go Hoosiers!

    April 25, 2006

    Complete Bracket in PDF Format
    Download Free Acrobat Reader

    PARK RIDGE, Ill. - The Indiana men's tennis team earned the No. 5 seed in the 2006 Big Ten Championship. The Hoosiers will face No. 4 seed Michigan on Friday, April 28, at 11:00 a.m. EST. The Big Ten Championship will be hosted by Minnesota at the Baseline Tennis Center. Indiana enters the championship with an overall record of 16-9 and a Big Ten ledger of 5-5.

    "We have developed and improved as the season has gone along," Indiana head coach Ken Hydinger said. "This is another opportunity for us, and we are looking forward to competing in the Big Ten Championship."

    The Hoosiers finished in a tie for fifth in the conference standings with Penn State and Northwestern, but took the fifth spot by virtue of their combined nine points in the matches against the Nittany Lions and Wildcats. IU won at then-No. 39 Penn State, 6-1, on March 24, before falling to then-No. 59 Northwestern, 4-3, at the IU Tennis Center on April 2. Penn State defeated Northwestern in University Park, Pa., 6-1, on March 31.

    IU will look to avenge a loss to then-No. 39 Michigan on April 23. The match came down to a tight three-set affair at the No. 6 position. With junior Arnaud Roussel cramping severely in his quadriceps leading 5-4 in the third set, Michigan's Scott Bruckmann was able to garner the momentum and pick up a 7-6 (0), 3-6, 7-5 victory to give the Wolverines a 4-3 team win. Five of the six singles matches between the two schools went to a decisive third set.

    Ohio State is the top seed in the championship after winning the regular season title with a perfect 10-0 record. The Buckeyes will face the winner of No. 8 Wisconsin and No. 9 Purdue. The winner of Michigan/Indiana will face the winner of that match in the first semifinal of the championship. Below are the seeds and matchups for the Big Ten Championship:

    No. 1 - Ohio State (10-0)
    No. 2 - Illinois (9-1)
    No. 3 - Minnesota (7-3)
    No. 4 - Michigan (6-4)
    No. 5 - Indiana (5-5)
    No. 6 - Penn State (5-5)
    No. 7 - Northwestern (5-5)
    No. 8 - Wisconsin (3-7)
    No. 9 - Purdue (3-7)
    No. 10 - Michigan State (1-9)
    No. 11 - Iowa (1-9)

    Thursday, April 27
    No. 6 Penn State vs. No. 11 Iowa - 10:00 a.m. EST
    No. 7 Northwestern vs. No. 10 Michigan State - 1:00 p.m. EST
    No. 8 Wisconsin vs. No. 9 Purdue - 4:00 p.m. EST

    Friday, April 28
    No. 1 Ohio State vs. Wisconsin/Purdue winner 11:00 a.m. EST
    No. 4 Michigan vs. No. 5 Indiana 11:00 a.m. EST
    No. 3 Minnesota vs. Penn State/Iowa winner 3:00 p.m. EST
    No. 2 Illinois vs. Northwestern/Michigan State winner 3:00 p.m. EST

    Saturday, April 29
    Semifinal No. 1 - 11:00 a.m. EST
    Semifinal No. 2 - 3:00 p.m. EST

    Sunday, April 30
    Big Ten Championship - 1:00 p.m. EST




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties