Men's Tennis

    Ishtuganov, Kenner Honored by Big Ten

    Go Hoosiers! Senior Dmytro Ishtuganov earned All-Big Ten honors for the first time in his career.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Senior Dmytro Ishtuganov earned All-Big Ten honors for the first time in his career.
    Go Hoosiers!

    April 27, 2006

    PARK RIDGE, Ill. - Senior Dmytro Ishtuganov was one of 12 players to garner All-Big Ten honors the Big Ten announced on April 27. Ishtuganov became the 36th Hoosier to earn all-league laurels, and 15th on 23 occasions under the direction of head coach Ken Hydinger. Senior Neil Kenner also received the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award nomination for Indiana.

    After playing sparingly in his first two seasons with the Hoosiers, Ishtuganov made his presences felt during his senior campaign. The Kiev, Ukraine native posted a 21-14 overall record, including a 14-10 mark at the No. 1 position and a 5-5 conference ledger. Ishtuganov currently holds the No. 109 sport in the Fila/ITA singles rankings after defeating four ranked opponents during the 2005-06 season.

    On April 21, Ishtuganov defeated then-No. 101 Nick Rinks of Michigan State, 7-6 (5), 5-7, 10-5. In the span of three weeks, Ishtuganov also defeated a pair of top-60 foes. After not playing well in doubles against Minnesota, he turned it around in singles with a straight-set victory over then-No. 59 D.J. Geatz. On April 2, Ishtganov defeated then-No. 51 Christian Tempke of Northwestern in straight sets, 7-6, 6-2. Earlier in the year, Ishtuganov defeated then-No. 120 Bryan Koniecko, 6-2, 6-1, of Ohio State at the Big Ten Indoor Singles Championship in November for his first victory over a ranked foe.

    Kenner has batted injuries through most of his Hoosier career, but is having the best season in 2005-06. Entering the Big Ten Championship, Kenner has won nine straight matches and in the process, upped his season mark to 18-9 overall. The Dallas, Texas native also holds the top Hoosier Big Ten record at 7-2 while playing at the No. 4 position.

    The Conference office also announced honorees from each team for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The 11 student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. These student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the Conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

    Ohio State took home both the Freshman of the Year and Coach of the Year accolades after winning the regular season conference crown with a perfect 10-0 mark. Bryan Koniecko was the Big Ten Freshman of the Year, while Ty Tucker took home the Big Ten Coach of the Year award. Illinois' Ryler DeHeart won the Big Ten Athlete of the Year for the second straight season.

    The No. 5-seed Hoosiers battle No. 4-seed Michigan at 11 a.m., EST on Friday, April 27. Minnesota is the host of the Big Ten Championship at the Baseline Tennis Center. The winner of the Indiana-Michigan match will face the winner of top seed Ohio State and No. 8-seed Wisconsin on Saturday, April 29, at 11 a.m., EST.

    Here is a complete list of the Big Ten Awards:

    Freshman of the Year
    Bryan Koniecko, Ohio State*

    Athlete of the Year
    Ryler DeHeart, Illinois*

    Coach of the Year
    Ty Tucker, Ohio State*

    2006 All-Big Ten Team
    Kevin Anderson, Illinois
    Ryler DeHeart, Illinois*
    Dymtro Ishtuganov, Indiana
    Matko Maravic, Michigan*
    Nick Rinks, Michigan State
    D.J. Geatz, Minnesota*
    Christian Tempke, Northwestern
    Chris Klingemann, Ohio State*
    Bryan Koniecko, Ohio State
    Devin Mullings, Ohio State
    Mark Barry, Penn State*
    Jeremy Sonkin, Wisconsin*
    *unanimous selection

    2006 Sportsmanship Award Honorees
    Pramod Dabir, Illinois
    Neil Kenner, Indiana
    Bart van Monsjou, Iowa
    Brian Hung, Michigan
    Mike Flowers, Michigan State
    Adrien Debreyne, Minnesota
    Adam Schaechterle, Northwestern
    Scott Green, Ohio State
    Mark Barry, Penn State
    Eric Hodgman, Purdue
    Lachezar Kasarov, Wisconsin




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties