Men's Tennis

    Praibis, Recht Earn Big Ten Honor

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!
    CHAMPAIGN, Ill. - Indiana men's tennis player senior Jakub Praibis earned his second straight All-Big Ten accolade, and fellow classmate Ryan Recht garnered the Big Ten Sportsmanship Honor on Thursday evening.

    Praibis, one of six unanimous selections to the all-league team, closed the regular season with an 18-5 dual record and an 8-2 ledger in Big Ten play. The Litomerice, Czech Republic, product earned his highest national Intercollegiate Tennis Assocation standing of 39th overall on March 22.

    The top singles player for the Cream and Crimson was twice honored as the Big Ten Player of the Week (Feb. 3 and March 11). The senior downed six ranked opponents this spring and has rolled over 13 for his career. Praibis bested five of the 11 players that joined him on the first team during the conference dual stanza.

    He becomes the eighth all time IU men's tennis player to earn the league honor twice.

    Recht was one of 11 athletes honored from each team for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

    The Fort Wayne, Ind., native has played a majority of the 2005 season at the No. 1 doubles and No 2 singles positions. He, along with his tandem partner junior John Stone, received their first national ranking, 56th in the country, in the March 22 ITA Poll.

    These 11 student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the Conference office will select one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

    Illinois Ryler Deheart was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year, while teammate Kevin Anderson was awarded the Big Ten Freshman of the Year accolade. Fighting Illini mentor Craig Tiley captured league coach of the year distinction.

    Indiana will be the No. 4 seed for the Big Ten Championship this weekend, April 28 - May 1, in Champaign, Ill. The Hoosiers will face the Northwestern Wildcats (11-11, 6-4), the No. 5 seed, in the quarterfinal round on Friday, April 28, at 10 a.m. (CDT) in the Atkins Tennis Center. Both squads tied for third place in the final league standings, but IU owned the tiebreaker with its win over the Wildcats on April 2.

    Athlete of the Year

    Ryler DeHeart, Illinois

    Freshman of the Year
    Kevin Anderson, Illinois

    Coach of the Year
    Craig Tiley, Illinois

    2005 All-Big Ten Team
    Kevin Anderson, Illinois*
    Ryler DeHeart, Illinois*
    GD Jones, Illinois*
    Jakub Praibis, Indiana*
    Matko Maravic, Michigan
    Andy Formanczyk, Michigan State
    Avery Ticer, Minnesota*
    Tommy Hanus, Northwestern
    Christian Tempke, Northwestern
    Joey Atas, Ohio State
    Devin Mullings, Ohio State*
    Mark Barry, Penn State
    *unanimous selection

    2005 Sportsmanship Award Honorees
    Chris Martin, Illinois
    Ryan Recht, Indiana
    Chaitu Malempati, Iowa
    Brian Hung, Michigan
    Joe McWilliams, Michigan State
    Avery Ticer, Minnesota
    Christian Tempke, Northwestern
    Scott Green, Ohio State
    Mark Barry, Penn State
    Paul Rose, Purdue
    Lachezar Kasarov, Wisconsin




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties