Men's Tennis

    Hoosiers Fall to Iowa in Quarters

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!
    EAST LANSING, Mich.--- The No. 61 Indiana men's tennis team's season came to an end on Friday afternoon after the Hoosiers dropped a 4-3 decision to 35-th ranked and third-seeded Minnesota in the quarterfinals of the Big Ten Tournament.

    Indiana gained an early advantage by picking up the doubles point thanks to the dynamic duo of Jakub Praibis and Dmytro Ishtuganov who downed Clay Estes and Alex Zharinov 8-4, making it their 10th-consectutive win this season. The pair of Tom Bagnato and Ryan Recht finished off Tabak and Avery Ticer 8-4 as well to put the Hoosiers ahead.

    In singles, 51st-ranked Praibis continued to stay strong at No. 1 and went on to beat No. 56 Zharinov, 6-4, 6-3. The Hoosiers then struggled as Neil Kenner was defeated by Andres Osorio, 6-3, 6-3, followed by a loss from Bagnato, who fell to Clay Estes, 6-1, 6-3. With the score tied at 2-2, the match was then moved inside due to inclement weather.

    With just No. 2, 5. and 6 left to play things really got intense, McCarthy dropped his set to Brian Lipinski, 6-3, 2-6, 6-4 at No. 6, but Recht gave the Hoosiers a sign of life when he earned revenge over 69th-ranked Chris Wettengel 7-6. 0-6, 3-1 at No. 2, to bring the score to another tie at 3-3. The victory over Wettengel was a great one for Recht as the two had met up during regular season and Recht lost, 2-6, 6-3, 7-6 (8).

    The last match rested on the shoulders of freshman David Bubenicek who put up a very tough fight but eventually fell to Dusan Tabak 2-6, 6-3, 6-2, ensuring the win for the Golden Gophers.

    Full Results from Friday's Match

    No. 35 Minnesota (3-seed) 4, No. 61 Indiana (6-seed) 3


    1.) No. 51 Jakub Praibis (IU) def. No. 56 Aleksey Zharinov (MINN) 6-4, 6-3
    2.) Ryan Recht (IU) def. No. 69 Chris Wettengel (MINN) 7-6, 0-6, 3-1
    3.) Andres Osorio (MINN) def. Neil Kenner (IU) 6-3, 6-3
    4.) Clay Estes (MINN) def. Tom Bagnato (IU) 6-1, 6-3
    5.) Dusan Tabak (MINN) def. David Bubenicek (IU) 2-6, 6-3, 6-2
    6.) Brian Lipinski (MINN) def. Ryan McCarthy (IU) 6-3, 2-6, 6-4

    Order of Finish:
    1, 3, 4, 6, 2, 5


    1.) Kenner/McCarthy (IND) vs. Osorio/Wettengel (MINN) abandoned at IND 7-5
    2.) Ishtuganov/Praibis (IND) def. Estes/Zharinov (MINN) 8-4
    3.) Bagnato/Recht (IND) def. Tabak/Ticer (MINN) 8-4

    Order of Finish:
    2, 3




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties