Men's Tennis

    Three Named ITA All-Academic

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!
    Bloomington, Ind. - Indiana University men's tennis player's Jakub Praibis, Ryan McCarthy and David Bubenicek have been named to the 2004 Intercollegiate Tennis Association Scholar-Athlete Team.

    In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must be a varsity letterwinner, have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and have been enrolled at their present school for at least two semesters (including freshman thorough senior year.

    Praibis finished the season with a 16-7 overall record and a 5-4 mark in Big Ten play. He played all 23 matches at the No. 1 singles position and was selected to play in the main singles draw of the NCAA Championships. The All-Big Ten performer defeated Calle Hansen of Pepperdine, 6-3, 3-6, 7-6, to advance to the NCAA round of 32. The third-ranked player in the main draw, Jeremy Wurtzman of Ohio State, 6-4, 7-6, defeated Praibis.

    Bubenicek closed the season with an 8-10 record and a 5-5 mark in Big Ten play. He saw action at the No. 4 and No. 5 singles positions. McCarthy finished the season with a 13-16 mark in singles action, while going 4-5 in Big Ten play.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties