Men's Tennis

    ITA National Summer Championships Begin on Monday at IU

    Go Hoosiers! Lachlan Ferguson is a 9-16 alphabetical seed
    Go Hoosiers!
    Lachlan Ferguson is a 9-16 alphabetical seed
    Go Hoosiers!

    Aug. 10, 2008

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The 2008 Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) National Summer Championships will take place starting Monday at the Indiana University Varsity Tennis Center.

    Women's Singles Draw Get Acrobat Reader

    Men's Singles Draw Get Acrobat Reader

    The ITA National Summer Championships presented by the United States Tennis Association (USTA) are the pinnacle of the ITA Collegiate Summer Circuit, which was played at 26 regional sites throughout the country in July.

    More than 25,000 men and women have competed in circuit events since it began in 1993. The circuit is the brainchild of Indiana head women's tennis coach Lin Loring and provides college tennis players the opportunity to compete in organized events virtually year round. It is made up of seven regional circuits (East, Southeast, Midwest, Central, Mountain, Southwest and West) and six of the seven regions consists of four consecutive tournaments played during the month of July, leading up to the ITA National Summer Championships.

    A group of seven Hoosiers will represent the IU men's tennis team at the event. In addition to a pair of returners in Peter Antons and Lachlan Ferguson competing, Hoosier fans will also get the chance to check out a five-man group of newcomers when Jeremy Langer, Jonathan Schroeder, Chris Peek, Stephen Vogl and Will Kendall each step onto the court representing the Cream and Crimson.

    The top seeds in women's singles next week will be (in order): Laura Vallverdu of Miami (Fla.), Chisako Sugiyama of Michigan, Kirsten Flower of Ohio State and Lindsay Burdette of Stanford. The top men's seeds are: Daniel Vallverdu of Miami (Fla.), Matt Bruch of Stanford, Kallim Stewart of California and Jason Jung of Michigan.

    Siblings Daniel and Laura Vallverdu of Miami are the top seeds and both are coming off of 2008 seasons that saw them earn ITA All-America honors. Second-seeded Bruch of Stanford is also a former ITA All-American and the women's draw will feature eight players who finished inside the top 125 in the ITA's national singles rankings last season.

    The singles and doubles champions from the ITA National Summer Championships earn wild cards into the first national tournaments of the 2008-09 collegiate tennis season - the D'Novo Men's and Riviera/ITA Women's All-American Championships in October.

    The ITA National Summer Championships include men's and women's singles and doubles. William and Mary's Ragini Acharya and Tennessee's Chris Racz captured the singles titles last year. And Duke's Melissa Mang and Tory Zawacki and Harvard's Sasha Ermakov and Ashwin Kumar claimed the doubles titles. Acharya will be back next week to defend her title.

    This is the eighth straight year IU is serving as tournament host for the championships, which began in 1994. IU associate head women's tennis coach Ramiro Azcui is serving as tournament director.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties