Men's Tennis

    Five Hoosiers in Main Draw

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!
    MADISON, Wisc. - Indiana senior Tom Bagnato and freshman Dara McLoughlin each won their first match of the day, but lost their round of 16 contests in the qualifying draw of the Big Ten Singles Championship at the University of Wisconsin on Friday.

    In all, eight qualifiers earned a spot in the main draw. Five Hoosiers had already secured spots and are slated to compete in the round of 64, beginning Saturday, Nov. 13, at the Nielson Tennis Stadium.

    The tournament features all 11 Big Ten teams, competing throughout the weekend, in singles action at the Nielsen Tennis Stadium.

    In the first round of qualifying Bagnato downed Iowa's Jonny Hoak, 7-5, 6-4 and McLoughlin bested Chris Sherman of Penn State by the score of 3-6, 6-2, 6-1.

    Bagnato was tripped-up in the round of 16, 7-5, 6-2, by Wisconsin's Luke Kasarov, as was McLoughlin by Minnesota's Sion Wilkins, in his second three-set match of the day, 6-2, 0-6, 6-2.

    Senior Ryan Recht and freshman Michael McCarthy are two of the 16-seeded players in the tournament, at 13th and 15th, respectively.

    Recht, who captured the Big Ten consolation title last year, will face qualifier Colin Foster of Purdue in his first match. McCarthy, 8-1 on the fall campaign, is set to battle Kyle Markham of Iowa.

    Junior Dmytro Ishtuganov will face the top-seeded player Andrew Formanczyk of Michigan State, while sophomore David Bubenicek will play the No. 10-seed Illinois' Pramod Dabir and junior John Stone squares off against the No. 16-seed Andres Osorio of Minnesota.

    Bagnato and McLoughlin will play in the consolation bracket beginning on Saturday.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties