Men's Track

    IU Opens Indoor Slate Strong at Hoosier Open

    Go Hoosiers! David Neville took home first place in the men's 400m and hit the NCAA's provisional mark.
    Go Hoosiers!
    David Neville took home first place in the men's 400m and hit the NCAA's provisional mark.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Jan. 7, 2006

    Results |  Photo Gallery

    BLOOMINGTON. Ind. - The Indiana men's and women's track and field teams successfully opened up the 2006 indoor campaign at the Hoosier Open on Jan. 7 in Gladstein Fieldhouse on their newly installed 200m banked track. The Hoosiers claimed victories in nine events in their debut.

    "For the first meet of the season in the new facility set up, I thought we accomplished what this meet is setup to do," Indiana track and field director Randy Heisler said. "Today was an acclamation situation and overall we had some really good performances. Our freshman pole vaulter, Jeff Coover, did outstanding and will be a great athlete for us. David Neville was three seconds faster today then he was last year at this meet and that is a testament to his growing maturity. I thought we had a solid, competitive effort today from everyone."

    David Neville kicked off the season in thrilling fashion, claiming the 400m crown with a time of 46.67. Neville's winning time surpassed his previous personal best time of 46.95 set Dec. 12, 2005 at the Tyson Invitational. Additionally, Neville's time at the Hoosier Open meets the NCAA's provisional mark in the 400m (47.25).

    After sitting out last season, Andrea Dalla Rosa swept the competition in the weight throw and shot put with hurls of 16.26m (53-4.25) and 14.08m (46-2.50), respectively. Indiana's Jean Schaffer recorded another first place in the high jump with a leap of 1.67m (5-5.75). Jamie Raklau recorded a new personal best and a first-place finish in the pole vault with a clearance of 2.82m (9-3.00).

    Courtney Johnson also notched a victory in the women's 60m hurdles with a time of 8.52. Johnson was followed by IU's Lorian Price with a runner-up time of 8.78. In the 600m, IU's Caitlin Lauer clinched another first-place finish for the Hoosiers with an impressive run of 1:35.83. Audrey Smoot finished runner-up in the 400m with a time of 59.19 in her first outing as a Hoosier.



    Ryan Ketchum added his name to the list of Hoosier victories in the shot put. Ketchum threw an event-best throw of 17.38 (57-00.25). In the long jump, Indiana's Kiwan Lawson leapt to a win with a jump of 7.19m (23-7.25).

    Rounding out the meet, IU picked up its ninth win of the meet when the women's Indiana A 4x400m relay team (Smoot, Huber, Lauer, Clausing) finished first with a time of 3:51.21.

    Indiana returns to action on Saturday, Jan. 14 with the Hoosier Classic. Meet time is set for noon.

    Indiana Performances (Men)

    2. Will Glover - 6.80
    11. Jacob Moylan - 7.15
    Tyler Skelton - 7.42
    18. Marcus Brown - 7.92

    4. Kiwan Lawson-22.47
    13. Brandon Libunao-23.62

    1. David Neville-46.67P
    9. John Gunnell-50.95
    7. Trey Warfield-50.30
    10. Leon Brown-51.37
    12. Martin Stephens-51.38
    16. Corey Johnson-55.48

    10. Josh Buhler - 1:24.77
    13. Tyler Bush - 1:28.81

    60m Hurdles
    5. Stephanos Ioannou-8.01
    13. Nick Panozzo-9.62

    4x400m Relay
    2. Indiana A (Warfield, Gunnell, Johnson, Brown) - 3:22.43
    4. Indiana B (Martin, Buhler, Bush, Isphording) - 3:26.03

    Long Jump
    1. Kiwan Lawson - 7.19m(23-7.25)
    7. Tyler Skelton - 6.60m(21-8.00)
    9. Jason Johnson - 5.90m (19-4.25)

    High Jump
    7. Britain Jorgenson - 1.91m

    Shot Put
    1. Ryan Ketchum - 17.38 (57-00.25)
    12. Nick Panozzo - 11.94m (39-2.25)

    Weight Throw
    5. Ryan Ketchum - 17.26m (56-7.50)
    6. Paul Fearnow - 17.14m (56-3.00)

    Pole Vault
    3. Jeff Coover - 4.85m (15-11.00)
    8. Kyle Lechlitner - 4.25m (13-11.25)
    9. Blayne Burkholder - J4.25m (13-11.25)

      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties