Men's Track

    Butler, Sherrill Lead Hoosiers in Sweep of Purdue

    Go Hoosiers! Kind Butler blazed to a time of 6.72 to tie the IU record in the 60-meters.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Kind Butler blazed to a time of 6.72 to tie the IU record in the 60-meters.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Jan. 15, 2011

    Complete Results

    WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - The Hoosier men and women came out on top in a dual meet at Purdue. Kind Butler won two events and tied an IU record to lead the way for the Hoosier men. Faith Sherrill broke a Lambert Fieldhouse record and won two events to lead the women. The Hoosier women won by a final score of 89-47, and the men won 77-59.

    Butler blazed to a time of 6.72 to tie the IU record in the 60-meters. He out-dashed defending Big Ten 60m champion Shane Crawford in the process. Butler's time is tied for the sixth-best on the Division I descending order list this season. Butler followed that up with the win in the 200m, finishing in 21.58 which converts to 21.18 (flat track), to move himself into fifth on the national list. The Hoosiers went 1-2-3 in the 200m as Devin Pipkin was second in 22.06 and Tyler Sult was third in 22.34.

    Faith Sherrill broke the Lambert Fieldhouse record in the shot put with a heave of 17.92m (58-9.5). The throw is the second best in the country this season behind her own throw from the Indiana Open. Monique Riddick took second with a heave of 15.93m (52-3.25), which is good for seventh nationally and fifth in IU history.

    Sherrill moved up to 11th on the national list in the weight throw, winning with a heave of 19.16m (62-10.5). Kristen Crawford was second with a throw of 18.27m (59-11.25). The men's weight throw went to Patrick Onye, whose throw of 19.33m (63-5) is the 13th best in the country this season.

    Derek Drouin won the high jump with a clearance of 2.25m (7-4.5). He was 5.5 inches better than the rest of the field he bettered the NCAA automatic qualifying standard for the second-straight meet. Drouin also took the win the 60m hurdles with a time of 8.02 seconds, which is the third-fastest in school history.



    Andy Bayer took the win in the mile, dominating the field for a win by over eight seconds. His time of 4:01.51 converts to 3:59.71 and is the second fastest in the country this season.

    In the women's 60m, Aireonna Bailey took the win with a time of 7.73, good for seventh in IU lore. Bailey also took the 200m with a time of 25.13. Ann-Marie Clarke was second in 25.42.

    IU went 1-2 in the women's pole vault, as Vera Neuenswander cleared 4.10m (13-4.25) and Kelsie Ahbe cleared 4.00m (13-1.5). Neuenswander is tied for third nationally with her clearance and Ahbe is tied for ninth.

    The women's mile saw Indiana go 1-2-3 with Chelsea Blanchard, Samantha Ginther and Sarah Pease. Blanchard clocked a time of 4:48.92, which converts to 4:47.02 and ranks third nationally.

    Indiana took both 400m races, with Chris Vaughn winning the men's race in 49.65 and the women taking the top three spots. Clarke won in 56.96, Jordan Gray was second in 57.15 and Samantha Gwin was third in 58.08.

    The 800m races went the Hoosiers' way as Arianne Raby, Kelsey Duerksen and Breanne Ehrman went 1-2-3, with Raby clocking a time of 2:11.87, and Ben Hubers won the men's race in 1:54.69. Raby's time converts to 2:10.87 and ranks sixth on the national list.

    The Hoosiers swept the 3,000m races as well, as Danny Stockberger won in 8:22.09 and Erica Ridderman and Lyndsey Wall went 1-2 in 9:46.06 and 9:54.77. Stockberger's time converts to 8:19.39 and ranks eighth nationally and Ridderman's converts to 9:43.06 and ranks third.

    Sult, Vaughn, Josh Moore and Butler took the win in the men's 4x400m relay with a time of 3:18.27. Ehrman, Ashley Baker, Raby and Duerksen won the 4x800m relay in 9:05.76.

    The Hoosiers return to action when they host the Gladstein Invitational on January 22-23. For complete coverage of all things IU track and field, stay tuned to

      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties