Men's Track

    Hoosiers Post Five NCAA Provisionals at Invite

    Go Hoosiers! De'Sean Turner ran the second-fastest 600 meters in IU history on Saturday.
    Go Hoosiers!
    De'Sean Turner ran the second-fastest 600 meters in IU history on Saturday.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Jan. 23, 2010


    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Indiana finished competition at the Gladstein Invitational on Saturday, finishing the meet with five NCAA provisional qualifying marks and winning 20 events. The Hoosiers had two provisional marks on Saturday, led by junior Faith Sherrill and senior Jeff Coover.

    Sherrill moved to within 3.5 inches of the IU record in the weight throw, recording a heave of 19:30m (63-4) for her second NCAA provisional mark of the season. Her throw is three feet and two inches better than her previous career mark, and puts her just nine centimeters away from IU record holder Jennifer Brown. Sherrill broke Brown's IU shot put record earlier this season. Sherrill is the first Big Ten weight thrower to record a NCAA qualifying heave on the season.

    Coover won the men's pole vault with an NCAA qualifying mark of 5.35m (17-6.5). Coover was unable to clear the NCAA auto standard of 5.50m in three tries. His best mark on the season is 5.41m (17-9).

    Sophomore Derek Drouin won in his first indoor heptathlon as a Hoosier, finishing with 5,011 points. His total was nearly 800 better than his closest competitor. He recorded career bests in the 60m dash (7.25), shot put (10.81m (35-5.75)), pole vault (3.25m (10-8)) and 1000m run (2:56.12).

    Freshman Kelsie Ahbe continued to show improvement in the pole vault, clearing 3.87m (12-8.25). The mark moves her into fourth in the IU record books. She finished behind only unattached jumper Vera Neuenswander, making her the collegiate champion.

    Junior De'Sean Turner won the 600m Invitational with a time of 1:19.14. His time is the second fastest in school history and just .15 seconds off the school record.



    Junior Devin Pipkin ran a career best 6.84 seconds for the win in the 60m dash. Pipkin shed .01 off his career time, recording the seventh fastest time in school history. In the men's high jump, senior Jared Nuxoll scored his first win of the year, clearing 2.00m (6-6.75).

    A Hoosier squad of Jacob Laird, Ben Hubers, Cole Hardacre and Joe Holahan won the 4x800m relay by more than 12 seconds, finishin in 7:41.55. The Hoosier men also won the 4x400m relay, as Chris Vaughn, Devin Pipkin, Joshua Moore and Kind Butler won by .01 seconds over Rend Lake. They finished in 3:17.45.

    Senior Molly Beckwith was the collegiate winner in the 400m invitational, finishing in 55.88 seconds and behind only Olympic gold medalist Mary Wineberg. Beckwith also won the 600m invitational in 1:29.85.

    Junior Lindsey Hartman won the 800m invitational in 2:11.96. Sophomore Jordan Gray won the open 800 meters in 2:15.87.

    The Hoosiers return to action on Friday, January 29, when they host the Indiana Relays. For complete coverage of IU track and field, stay tuned to

      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties