Men's Track

    Coover Gets Auto Mark, Poore Runs Record 5k

    Go Hoosiers! Senior Jeff Coover cleared the NCAA auto height in the pole vault.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Senior Jeff Coover cleared the NCAA auto height in the pole vault.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Jan. 30, 2010

    Complete Results

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Indiana track and field closed out the Indiana Relays with nine NCAA-qualifying performances, including two automatic marks. After six NCAA marks on day one, Jeff Coover and Andrew Poore led the way as the Hoosiers posted three more. Coover became the school's third jumper to clear 18 feet in the pole vault, posting an NCAA auto mark in the process. Poore recorded the fastest 5,000m ever at Gladstein Fieldhouse.

    Coover cleared 5.50m (18-0.5) to automatically qualify for the NCAA Championships. His clearance of 18 feet puts him into elite company as one of only three Hoosiers to do so. The other two, Mark Buse and Dave Volz, both won NCAA titles in the event. Coover is tied for the third-best clearance in Div. I this season.

    Poore broke a Gladstein Fieldhouse record that stood for 28 years, finishing the 5,000 meters in 13:48.88. The time is just off the NCAA auto. Standard of 13:47.00 and leads the country by nearly three seconds. The redshirt sophomore moves into second in the IU record books with a nearly 22-second improvement on his career best. He trails only Stephen Haas in the IU records.

    Junior Ashley Rhoades won the high jump invitational with a clearance of 1.80m (5-10.75). Her season and career best is fifth in Div. I this season.



    Junior Danny Stockberger won the 800m invitational with a career best time of 1:51.96. Freshman Logan Griffith won the 60m hurdles with a time of 8.30 seconds, and the men's 4x400m relay took the win as well, as Martin Stephen, Joshua Moore, Chris Vaughn and Ryan Hindes recorded a season-best time of 3:16.13

    Junior Lindsey Hartman won the women's 800m invitational, finishing in 2:10.68. The time is nearly a full second faster than her previous career best. Helene DeLone won the 5,000m invitational in 17:41.71, beating Red Lake's Julia Sambu to the line by less than a tenth of a second. The women also won the 4x800m relay, as Samantha Ginther, Ashley Seymour, Verena Vogl and Breanne Ehrman clocked a time of 9:03.11, a six-second improvement on the team's season best.

    Next up for the Hoosiers is the Meyo Invitational at Notre Dame on Feb. 5 and 6. For complete coverage of IU track and field, stay tuned to

      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties