Men's Track

    Neville Claims Two Titles in Indiana's Fifth-Place Finish at Big Tens

    Go Hoosiers! David Neville won the 200m and 400m at the 2006 Big Ten Indoor Track and Field Championships.
    Go Hoosiers!
    David Neville won the 200m and 400m at the 2006 Big Ten Indoor Track and Field Championships.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 26, 2006

    Results in PDF Format
    Download Free Acrobat Reader

    IOWA CITY, Iowa - The Indiana men's track and field team claimed 72 points en route to a fifth place at the 2006 Big Ten Track and Field Championships on Feb. 26 at Iowa's Recreational Building. David Neville led the Hoosiers with two stunning titles in the finals of the 200m and 400m.

    Neville became the Big Ten's 400m champion, an event in which he previously earned a NCAA provisional qualifying mark, with a first-place time of 47.11. The defending champion in the 200m, Neville held onto his title by claiming the 200m crown with a first-place time of 21.21.

    Marcus Thigpen, who advanced to the finals of the 60m with a prelim time of 6.79, took seventh place in the finals of the event crossing the line in 6.89. In the 200m finals, Thigpen recorded the event's sixth-best time of 21.94.

    Eric Redman and John Jefferson both advanced to the finals of the mile where the Hoosier pair took sixth and eighth, respectively. Redman crossed the line in 4:17.02 for sixth place, while Jefferson earned eighth place with a time of 4:19.79.

    In the home stretch of the heptathlon, Nick Panozzo ran the 60m hurdles in 9.70 which moved him into 14th place after five events with 3,062 points. In the pole vault, Panozzo took runner-up with a personal-best mark of 4.35m (14-3.25) to move him up to 11th place with 3,778 points. In the 1,000m, Panozzo ran a 13th and personal-best time of 3:07.78 en route to an 11th-place final finish in the heptathlon.

    Ryan Ketchum took fifth in the weight throw with a hurl of 19.10m (62-8), while teammate Paul Fearnow threw a 16.93m (55-6.50) for 12th place.



    In the 5,000m, Stephen Haas, who is the only Hoosier this season to earn a NCAA automatic qualifying mark, finished in third place in the event at the championships. Haas crossed the line for third place in 14:07.57.

    Kyle Jenkins, IU's only competitor in the triple jump, leapt to a fifth-place finish with a jump of 15.31m (50-2.75).

    The 4x400m relay team took seventh with a time of 3:18.30 to round out the championship.

    Final Standings
    1. Wisconsin - 124.5 points
    2. Minnesota - 94 points
    3. Illinois - 93 points
    4. Michigan - 76 points
    5. INDIANA - 72 points
    6. Ohio State - 64 points
    7. Iowa - 49 points
    8. Penn State - 46.5 points
    9. Michigan State - 43 points
    10. Purdue - 40 points

    Indiana Results

    60-m Hurdles - Heptathlon
    Nick Panozzo - 12th - 9.70

    Pole Vault - Heptathlon
    Nick Panozzo - 2nd - 4.35m (14-3.25)*

    1,000m - Heptathlon
    Nick Panozzo - 13th - 3:07.78*

    Nick Panozzo - 11th - 4,368 points

    Mile (Finals)
    Eric Redman - 6th - 4:17.02
    John Jefferson - 8th - 4:19.79

    400m (Finals)
    David Neville - 1st - 47.11

    60m (Finals)
    Marcus Thigpen - 7th - 6.89

    Weight Throw
    Ryan Ketchum - 5th - 19.10m (62-8)
    Paul Fearnow - 12th - 16.93m (55-6.50)

    200m (Finals)
    David Neville - 1st - 21.21
    Marcus Thigpen - 6th - 21.94

    5,000m (Finals)
    Stephen Haas - 3rd - 14:07.57

    Triple Jump
    Kyle Jenkins - 5th - 15.31m (50-2.75)

    4x400m Relay
    7th - 3:18.30

    * Indicates personal best

      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties