Men's Track

    IU Runs to Indiana Invite Titles

    Go Hoosiers! Kind Butler put on a display in the 400m, clocking a meet record of 46.37.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Kind Butler put on a display in the 400m, clocking a meet record of 46.37.
    Go Hoosiers!

    April 17, 2011

    Complete Results

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The Hoosiers got big performances throughout the weekend to take the men's and women's titles at the Indiana Invitational. The women's meet came down to the final event, with the Hoosiers running away with the 4x400m relay for the win with 203.5 points, to Michigan State's 201. The men wrapped up the meet much earlier, taking 189 points, to MSU's 161. The Hoosiers broke five meet records in the meet.

    The women's 4x400m relay started with Indiana and MSU tied. The Hoosiers took the win, cruising over the final 500 meters. Jordan Gray ran a 54.8 split on the third leg, pulling away in the final 100, and Ann-Marie Clarke anchored a leg of 53.6, helping clock a time of 3:41.09, which ranks sixth all-time at Indiana.

    Indiana went 1-2 in the women's shot put, with Faith Sherrill tossing a meet record of 17.36m (56-11.5) and Monique Riddick taking second with a heave of 16.05m (52-8)). Riddick's heave ranks fifth in IU lore.

    Kind Butler put on a display in the 400m, clocking a meet record of 46.37. His time is the 7th-best in IU history and it ranks 18th nationally and second in the Big Ten this season. Butler then anchored the Hoosiers to a win in the 4x400m relay, clocking a time of 3:11.73. Butler and Chris Vaughn each provided splits of 46.6 seconds.

    The Hoosiers took 1-2 finishes in both 3,000m steeplechase races. Sarah Pease clocked a meet record of 10:13.08, which ranks seventh in the NCAA this season. Caitlin Engel took second in 10:40.43. The men's race went to De'Sean Turner in 8:50.35, and Andy Weatherford was second in 10:54.45. The two Hoosiers rank eighth and 14th respectively in the NCAA this season.



    Gray won the women's 800 in 2:09.48 with teammate Ruth Christopher clocking a time of 2:10.76 for second. The men's 800 saw Ben Hubers come back from a Saturday night win in the 1,500m for an impressive final kick to take the win in 1:52.08.

    The Hoosiers dominated the sprints, with Aireonna Bailey winning the 100 meters in 11.93 and the 200m in 24.05. The men's 100 went to Devin Pipkin in 10.67, and Tyler Sult finished third in 10.82.

    Olumide Olamigoke won the triple jump with a leap of 15.31m (50-2.75).

    Indiana returns to action on Thursday, hosting the three-day Polytan Invitational. For complete coverage of all things IU track and field, stay tuned to

      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties