Men's Track

    Indiana Opens 2006 Indoor Season with Hoosier Open

    Go Hoosiers! Indiana head coach Randy Heisler begins his third season as IU's track and field director.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Indiana head coach Randy Heisler begins his third season as IU's track and field director.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Jan. 4, 2006

    Hoosier Open Weekly Notes
    Download Free Acrobat Reader

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The Indiana men's and women's track and field teams open up the indoor season at home at Harry Gladstein Fieldhouse with the 2006 Hoosier Open. The meet will begin at noon.

    The Hoosiers return a talented group of veterans on both the men and women's sides who hope to pick up where they left off last season. The men's team finished runner-up at last year's Big Ten Championship and are expected to be a front runner again this year. Seniors Marcus Aguilar (distance), Jimmy Conrad (throws), Wil Fleming (throws), Stephen Haas (distance), John and Sean Jefferson (distance), Ryan Ketchum (throws) and Eric Redman (distance) all return to lead IU in 2006. Junior Stephanos Ioannou, who shattered the school record in the 60m hurdles at last season's Alex Wilson Invite, and David Neville who won the 200m at the Big Tens add additional strength to the talented Hoosier roster.

    The 2005 women's team, who finished ninth at the Big Ten Championship, look to make tremendous strides this season. The women are led by seniors Larra Overton (distance), LaDonna Ray (m-distance), Jean Schaffer (high jump), Kelly Siefker (distance), Ashley Stinton (pole vault) and Ara Towns (sprints). Additionally, a talented junior class comprised of Stacy Clausing (sprints), Andrea Dallarosa (throws), Jessica Gall (distance) and Lorian Price (hurdles/long jump) give the women's track and field team a lot of look forward to.

    Rolling Hoosier Open Event Schedule
    12:00 p.m.- W 60m Hurdles
    12:00 p.m.- W 20lb Weight
    12:00 p.m.- M/W Long Jump Triple Jump to follow
    12:00 p.m.- M/W Pole Vault
    12:10 p.m.- M 60m Hurdles
    12:20 p.m.- M Shot Put
    12:20 p.m.- W High Jump
    12:30 p.m.- W Mile
    12:40 p.m.- M Mile
    12:50 p.m.- W 400m
    1:05 p.m.- M 400m
    1:30 p.m.- W 60m Dash at conclusion of men's shot/women's high jump
    1:40 p.m.- M 60m Dash
    1:45 p.m.- M High Jump
    1:50 p.m.- W Shot Put
    1:50 p.m.- M 35lb Weight
    1:55 p.m.- M 800m
    2:05 p.m.- W 600m
    2:15 p.m.- M 600m
    2:30 p.m.- W 200m Dash
    2:45 p.m.- M 200m Dash
    3:00 p.m.- W 3,000m
    3:15 p.m.- M 3,000m
    3:25 p.m.- W 4x400
    3:35 p.m.- M 4x400

    Indiana Installs Banked Track
    Indiana University's Gladstein Fieldhouse makes a conversion to a Mondo-surfaced banked track during the 2006 indoor track and field season. The 200 meter track was recently transported to IU from the RCA Dome in Indianapolis. The track, built by Mondo in Italy, saw its first use for the inaugural IAAF World Indoor Championships in March 1987 and then hosted the NCAA Div. I and Div. II Indoor Track and Field Championships annually through 1999. The Hoosier Open marks the first events held on the new track since its arrival.

    No Place Like Home
    The Hoosiers will make good use of the newly installed banked track at Gladstein Fieldhouse. Indiana will host six meets for the 2006 indoor season. For four consecutive weekends in Jan. IU will compete in its home facility. The Hoosiers travel to Fayetteville, Ark., Feb. 3-4 for the Tyson Invitational before returning home for the Hoosier Hills Invitational, the final competition before the Big Ten Championships.

    2005 Hoosier Open Recap
    The 2005 IU track and field teams got off to a great start at last season's Hoosier Open, winning a competition-high 11 events. Indiana saw first-place finishes from Ketchum in the shot put (17.84m), passing the 2005 NCAA provisional qualifying mark en route to earning his first Big Ten Athlete of the Week honor. George Tembon finished first in the triple jump (13.54m), Clausing won the 600-meter dash (1:36.39), Jean Schaffer took first in the high jump (1.63m), Christina Barniak recorded a time of 2:19.35 for a first in the 800m and the women's 4x400-meter relay team claimed the top spot (3:54.89). David Stead placed first in the men's pole vault (4.85m). Ara Towns dashed to a first place finish of 7.61 seconds in the women's 60m while Price took home the 200m crown (25.72 seconds).

    Doubles the Distance
    After a successful fall cross country campaign, Sean and John Jefferson have their sights set on Big Ten and NCAA crowns for the indoor season. Both Jeffersons were All-Americans in the mile with Sean Jefferson setting the school record (3:56.44) at last year's Meyo Classic.

    Best of the Best
    The Hoosier track and field coaching staff is one of the best in the nation. The staff boasts three Olympians in Randy Heisler (1988, Discus), Rose Richmond (2004, Long Jump) and Dave Volz (1992, Pole Vault). Additionally, IU's jumps coach, Wayne Pate, was the 2005 National Assistant Coach of the Year. Along with Pate, assistant coach/men's distance coach, Robert Chapman, garnered Mideast Regional Assistant Coach of the Year last season. Former Hoosier Jake Wiseman continues his stay in Bloomington as the newly appointed pole vault and multi events coach.

    2005 Highlights
    The 2005 campaign will go down as one of the most successful in Indiana track and field history. To go along with Wilson's two national titles in the triple jump and long jump, the Hoosier men claimed four Big Ten indoor crowns in Sean Jefferson (mile), David Neville (200m) and Wilson (triple jump, long jump). Additionally, Stephanos Ioannou was tabbed second team All-Big Ten for his impressive runner-up finish in the 60m hurdles at the conference championships. Indiana boasted four indoor All-Americans in six different events (Wilson, Sean Jefferson, John Jefferson, Stephen Haas). A total of six school records were broken in 2005. Sean Jefferson broke the Hoosier record in the mile at the Meyo Classic, Stephen Hass shattered the 3,000m record at the same meet then broke the 5,000m record seven days later at the Tyson Invite. Ioannou smashed the 60m hurdles record at the Alex Wilson Invite, while Wilson claimed the long jump school record at the NCAAs. The Hoosier 4x400m relay record was reset by Doug Dayhoff, David Neville, Andre Grimes and Rodney Hollis.

    Big Shoes to Fill
    En route to the men's team's highest finish (fifth) in 12 years at the NCAA Indoor Championships, Aarik Wilson became the first IU track and field athlete to claim two NCAA indoor titles at the same meet when he won the long jump and the triple jump in record-breaking fashion. Wilson was a ten-time All-American and was last season's Great Lakes, Mideast Region and Big Ten Athlete of the Year. Wilson decided to bypass his senior year of eligibility to turn professional.

    What's Next?
    IU will continue its home stand with the Hoosier Classic on Saturday, Jan. 14 at noon at Gladstein Fieldhouse.



      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties