Men's Track

    Hoosiers Head to Big Tens

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!
    News Update

    February 20, 2002

    Hoosiers Head to Big Ten Championship

    Current News Photo
    Hasaan Reddick

    Current News Photo
    Dino Efthimiou

    Indiana will look for its 16th Indoor Big Ten Track & Field Championship when the Hoosiers head to the University of Minnesota for the conference meet on Saturday, February 23 and Sunday, February 24.

    Historical Perspective
    Here is a look how the Hoosiers have done at the indoor conference meet over the last ten years along with each of their championship seasons:
    Year Place Points
    2001 9th 44
    2000 6th 62
    1999 4th 76
    1998 7th 59
    1997 6th 50.5
    1996 6th 37
    1995 7th 34
    1994 8th 32
    1993 5th 42
    1992 1st 104
    1991 1st 115
    1990 1st 98.5
    1985 1st 120
    1984 1st 104
    1983 1st 111
    1980 1st 118.33
    1979 1st 137
    1975 1st 66
    1974 1st 57
    1973 1st 54.5
    1957 1st 37.5
    1941 1st 44
    1933 1st 32
    1932 1st 27.83

    Coach Goss Says...
    "We are in a great position heading into the Big Ten meet, a much better position than we have been the past couple of years. We want to continue to improve as we have with each meet this season. This will be a very, very tight meet. In the past the first place team has run away with the meet, but I do not think that will be the case this season."
    Indiana head coach and program coordinator Marshall Goss is now entering his fourth season at the helm of men's track and field.
    In the past three seasons, Goss has re-strengthened the foundations of the men's program and has the Hoosiers continuing in the pursuit of their 27th Big Ten team title and looking towards strong performances once again at the national level.
    In the three indoor and outdoor seasons combined under Goss, Indiana has honored 21 All-Big Ten athletes, 10 Big Ten champions, and five All-Americans.

    Individual Champions
    Hoosier individuals or relay teams have won an indoor Big Ten crown 148 times. The Hoosiers have had at least one champion in 11 of the last 12 years. Here is a look at the recent Indiana indoor Big Ten champions:
    Year Individual Event
    2000 Greg Yeldell Triple Jump
    1999 Simos, Davis, Billish, Gillen Distance Medley Relay
    Kurt Krick Shot Put
    Joshua Ellis 200 Meters
    1998 Kurt Krick Shot Put
    1997 Nathan Davis Shot Put
    1996 Nathan Davis Shot Put
    1995 Mark Buse Pole Vault
    1994 Mark Buse Pole Vault
    1993 Glenn Terry 55m Hurdles
    1992 Bob Kennedy Mile
    Bob Kennedy 3,000 Meters
    Bob Kennedy 5,000 Meters
    Martin Hill 55 Meters
    Glenn Terry 55 Meter Hurdles
    1991 Alan Turner Long Jump
    Alan Turner 400 Meters
    Bob Kennedy Mile
    Bob Kennedy 3,000 Meters
    1990 Bob Kennedy Mile
    Bob Kennedy 3,000 Meters
    Bob Kennedy 5,000 Meters
    Glenn Terry 200 Meters

    Looking Inside the Long Jump
    UnRico Llyod owns the second best mark in the Big Ten this season with a jump of 7.45. He will be joined by fellow Hoosiers Aarik Wilson who owns the 5th best mark (7.43) and Hasaan Reddick who has a mark of 7.31 which ranks seventh.

    Shot Put Preview
    Wasyl Fedoriw will represent the Hoosiers in the shot put. His mark of 17.27 currently ranks seventh in the Big Ten.

    Vaulting for the Hoosiers
    Dino Efthimiou owns the top pole vault mark in the Big Ten at 5.40. He will be joined by Ian Curry who ranks fifth (5.05).

    Llyod Looking for Speed
    UnRico Llyod enters the conference meet with the second fastest 60-meter time in the Big Ten at 6.80.

    Hurdling Hoosiers
    Matt Harris and Michah Harvey both rank as two of the top hurdlers in the Big Ten. Harris currently ranks 4th with a time of 7.98 and Harvey sits 11th with a time of 8.17.

    Miracle Milers
    John Jefferson will look to make an impact in his first Big Ten meet as his mile time of 4:02.37 ranks second in the conference. Teammate Josh Trisler, who ranks 9th with a time of 4:10.37, gives the Hoosiers two strong milers.

    Hurryin Huber and Hollis
    Ryan Huber will lead the Hoosiers in the 800 meters as his time of 1:51.47 ranks him 8th in the Big Ten. Rodney Hollis will look to build on his season best time of 1:21.41 in the 600 meters.

    Trio in the 200
    Three Hoosiers will be looking to score in the 200 meters. Contrell Ash leads the way as his time of 21.49 ranks fourth in the conference. Ryan Sarbinoff's time of 21.54 ranks 6th in the conference while UnRico Llyod's time of 21.76 is the 13th best in the Big Ten.

    Going the Distance
    The Hoosiers will be strong in the distance events. Chris Powers will lead the way in the 3,000 meters as his time of 8:10.58 ranks eighth in the Big Ten while his 13:59.35 time in the 5,000 meters ranks second. He will be joined by Bart Phariss in the 5,000 who owns a time of 14:10.77 which ranks fifth and Chad Andrews who sits in fourth with a time of 14:07:00.

    High Jumping Hoosiers
    Jon Lange and Noah Shelton will led the Hoosiers in the high jump. Lange ranks 10th in the Big Ten with a mark of 2.08 while Shelton sits in 14th with a mark of 2.04.

    School Records
    Matt Harris has tied his own school record in the 60m High Hurdles this season with a time of 7.98. Wasyl Fedoriw shattered the 35lb weight throw mark with his toss of 20.86m. The old record of 17.65 by Joe Hall had stood since 1994.

    NCAA Marks
    Indiana has had athletes either provisionally or automatically qualify for the NCAA Championship 10 different times this season.
    Here is a look at Hoosiers who own NCAA marks:
    Athlete Event Time/Mark A/P
    Contrell Ash 200 Meters 21.49 P
    John Jefferson Mile 4:02.37 P
    Chris Powers 3,000 Meters 8:10.58 P
    Chris Powers 5,000 Meters 13:59.35 P
    Chad Andrews 5,000 Meters 14:07.00 P
    Bart Phariss 5,000 Meters 14:10.77 P
    Indiana 4x400 Relay 3:11.58 P
    Dino Efthimiou Pole Vault 5.40 P
    Aarik Wilson Triple Jump 16.09 P
    Wasyl Fedoriw 35 lb Weight Throw 20.86 P

    Among the National Elite
    Here is a look at where some of the Hoosiers rank on the national scene heading into the Big Ten meet:
    Athlete Event Time/Mark Rank
    John Jefferson Mile 4:01.57 9th
    Chris Powers 3,000 Meters 8:09.28 40th
    Chris Powers 5,000 Meters 13:59.35 9th
    Chad Andrews 5,000 Meters 14:07.00 17th
    Bart Pharris 5,000 Meters 14:10.77 22nd
    Dino Efthimiou Pole Vault 5.40 6th
    Aarik Wilson Triple Jump 16.09 7th
    Hasaan Reddick Triple Jump 15.93 10th
    Wasyl Fedoriw 35lb Weight Throw 20.86 14th

    Big Ten Experience
    Here is a look at how some of the current Hoosiers have done at Big Ten Indoor Championship meets over the past three seasons:
    Event Athlete Place Points Time/Mark
    60 Meters Contrell Ash 5th 4 6.83
    200 Meters Contrell Ash 3rd 6 21.21
    400 Meters Ryan Sarbinoff 7th 2 47.85
    600 Meters Rodney Hollis 7th 2 1:19.08
    Mile Kevin Chandler 6th 4 4:10.99
    60M Hurdles Matt Harris 4th 5 7.98
    Pole Vault Dino Efthimiou 3rd 6 5.37
    Triple Jump Hasaan Reddick 2nd 8 15.61
    Event Athlete Place Points Time/Mark
    600 Meters Ryan Huber 5th 4 1:19.70
    High Jump Jon Lange 4th 5 2.10
    Pole Vault Dino Efthimiou 4th 5 5.15
    Event Athlete Place Points Time/Mark
    High Jump Jon Lange 5th 4 2.14



      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties