Men's Track

    IU Looks For 16th Big Ten Title

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!
    BLOOMINGTON, Ind.-- The Big Ten Championships await the men's track and field team as the Hoosiers head north to archrival Purdue, the host of the 2005 meet. Lambert Fieldhouse will host the two-day event, beginning on Saturday, Feb. 26 at 10 a.m.

    Five Big Ten teams are among the top 25 in the latest USATF power rankings, released on Feb. 22. The list is headed by Indiana , who owns the No. 1 power ranking with a team score of 330.82. Michigan (No. 2), Illinois (No. 6), Wisconsin (No. 7), Penn State (No. 12) and Purdue (No. 23) round out the conference teams in the power rankings. According to the latest Trackwire power rankings, three programs are among the top three, with Indiana holding the two spot with 44 points, while Michigan and Wisconsin tied for third with 31 points.

    The 2005 men's championships will be the 95th in the history of the Big Ten. The event started in 1911, when the University of Chicago won the first ever championships, held on the campus of Northwestern. Michigan has captured a conference-high 26 championships, while Illinois and Wisconsin follow in second and third with 21 and 18, respectively. Indiana has been victorious 15 times, the latest in 1992. The 2002 championships were cancelled due to a tragic death of a student-athlete, while Wisconsin took home the crown last year with 174.5 points, finishing ahead of Minnesota (122) Michigan (94.5) and Illinois (63). IU was seventh with 58 total points.

    Indiana holds four Big Ten championship records, and they always will as all four events are now retired from competition. Mike McFarland holds the 60 and 300-yard dash marks. McFarland is tied with five others with a run of 5.9 seconds in the 60, which he ran in the 1975 championships in Bloomington. He is also tied with Marshall Dill of Michigan State in the 300 with a time of 29.60, also at the 1975 meet. Sunder Nix, a 1984 Olympian, holds the 440-yard dash all to himself with a 46.40 first-place finish in the 1984 championships held in Ann Arbor, Mich., while three-time Olympian Jim Spivey is the record holder in the two-mile run with a time of 8:35.03 at the 1980 meet at Wisconsin.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties