Men's Track

    Three Hoosiers Honored, Drouin is Athlete of the Year

    Go Hoosiers! Sophomore Derek Drouin is the Big Ten Field Athlete of the Year.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Sophomore Derek Drouin is the Big Ten Field Athlete of the Year.
    Go Hoosiers!

    March 2, 2010

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Sophomore Derek Drouin was named Big Ten Field Athlete of the Year when the Big Ten announced individual honorees for the indoor season on Tuesday. Three Hoosiers were named individual honorees, as redshirt freshman Andy Bayer was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year and junior Faith Sherrill was named Big Ten Field Athlete of the Championships. Five Hoosiers also garnered All-Big Ten honors. Drouin, Sherrill, Molly Beckwith and Ashley Rhoades were named first team All-Big Ten, while Bayer was named second team All-Big Ten. Rhoades and Bayer were also named Sportsmanship Award winners.

    Indiana track and field director and head coach Ron Helmer said the three Hoosiers show the progress his program is making.

    "These three have been outstanding this season, and the Big Ten Championships were no different," said Helmer, "It is exciting to know that these three student-athletes will all be back for at least another year of competition."

    Drouin set a Big Ten Championships record with a clearance of 2.26m (7-5). His clearance was also an IU record, breaking a 26 year-old record set by Ron Jones in 1984. Every one of Drouin's clearances came on his first attempt. His clearance is the best in Division I on the season.

    Bayer took second in the mile, an event in which he has an NCAA automatic qualifying time this season. Bayer times in the mile and 3,000m are among the top 10 on the national list this season.

    Sherrill won her first Big Ten title with a school record heave in the weight throw. Her throw of 20.35m (66-9.25) was more than 2.5 feet better than the second-place finisher. Sherrill also took second in the shot put for the silver medal.



    Beckwith was the Big Ten Champion in the 600m, running a time of 1:27.22, which is the second fastest ever by an American. Rhoades cleared 1.85m (6-0.75) for a Big Ten high jump title of her own. Rhoades' clearance is the best in IU history and broke the facility record at Penn State's Ashenfelter Multi-Sport Facility.

    The Big Ten Conference office honors an individual from each team with the Sportsmanship Award. The student-athletes chosen were individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. Bayer and Rhoades are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

    IU track and field is back in action on March 5-6 at the Alex Wilson Invitational. For complete coverage of IU track and field, stay tuned to

      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties