Men's Track

    Hoosiers Set for Big Ten Championships

    Go Hoosiers! David Neville has turned in the fastest times in both the 200m and 400m in the Big Ten this season.
    Go Hoosiers!
    David Neville has turned in the fastest times in both the 200m and 400m in the Big Ten this season.
    Go Hoosiers!

    May 10, 2006

    Weekly Notes - Big Ten Championships
    Download Free Acrobat Reader

    2006 Big Ten Championship Schedule of Events
    Download Free Acrobat Reader

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The Indiana track and field team is set for the 2006 Big Ten Outdoor Track and Field Championships. The Hoosiers will travel to Ralph Young Track and Field Complex on the campus of Michigan State for this year's conference showdown. Action begins on Friday, May 12 and concludes on Sunday, May 14.

    Results from each day of competition will be available on Fans can get updates and results on the Big Ten's site ( as well.

    The Hoosier contingent turned in 14 first-place finishes, 13 personal-best marks and 10 regional qualifying times at the 28th-annual Billy Hayes Invitational on May 5. The Hoosier seniors were also honored with rings in the final home event of their careers. David Neville (200m), Doug Dayhoff (400m), John Jefferson (1,500m), Charles Koeppen (3,000m), Chris Honig (3,000m steeplechase), Stephanos Ioannou (110m hurdles), Jeff Coover (pole vault), Kyle Jenkins (long jump), Wil Fleming (hammer), Ara Towns (100m) and both the men's and women's 4x400m and 4x100m relay teams.

    John Jefferson earned Big Ten Athlete of the Week honors for the period ending May 7, the conference announced. Jefferson led the Hoosiers to a successful showing at the 28th-annual Billy Hayes Invitational on May 5 in Bloomington. He turned in a first-place time of 3:41.96 in the 1,500m invitational. Additionally, the Delray Beach, Fla., product met the Mideast Regional standard (3:47.80) in the event, and at the time, recorded the Mideast Region's fastest time of the season.

    Indiana hurdler Stephanos Ioannou snapped the national Cyprus record in the 110m hurdles at the Billy Hayes Invitational on May 5. Ioannou took first in the event with a stunning time of 13.90. The previous Cyprus record of 13.92 stood for 27 years.

    The Larnaca, Cyprus native's 13.90 met a regional-qualifying time, allowing him to compete in the regional meet in Knoxville, Tenn., on May 26-27. In addition to holding the Cyprus national record, Ioannou clinched the second-best time in the Big Ten and ninth-fastest mark in the Mideast Region in the 110m hurdles this season. Moreover, Ioannou's time moved him into fifth in the event on the Indiana all-time best list. Additionally, Ioannou also holds the Cyprus national indoor record in the 60m hurdles with a time of 7.83 set on March 1, 2002.

    Of last season's five Big Ten Champions, three return to the defend their title at the 2006 edition. David Neville claimed first-place honors in the 400m with a time of 45.89. On the women's side, Stacey Clausing looks to defend her crown in the 200m. Last season, Clausing finished in 23.51. Lorian Price is the reigning conference champion in the 100m hurdles. Price turned in a first-place time of 13.70.

    2005 BIG TEN RECAP
    The Hoosiers turned in impressive team and individual performances at the 2005 Big Ten Outdoor Championships. Last season, the women finished in eighth place with 63 points, while the men took runner-up honors with 111 points. Individually, five Hoosiers took home top honors. Tom Burns won the title in the 3,000m steeplechase with a time of 8:45.67. David Neville won the crown in the 400m, crossing the line in 45.89. Aarik Wilson defended his titles in both the long jump (8.00m/26-3) and the triple jump (16.26m/53-4.25). Stacey Clausing took first in the 200m with a time of 23.51, while teammate Lorian Price claimed the 100m hurdles crown with time of 13.70.

    After five weeks of outdoor competition, 20 Hoosiers and three relay teams have met the NCAA regional qualifying standard in their respective events. The list after week five of the outdoor season is as follows: For the men, Jeff Coover (pole vault), Doug Dayhoff (400m), Wil Fleming (Hammer Throw), Kyle Jenkins (Triple Jump), Stephanos Ioannou (110m Hurdles), John Jefferson (1,500m), Kyle Jenkins (triple jump), Ryan Ketchum (Shot Put and Discus), David Neville (200m and 400m), Eric Redman (3,000m steeplechase), Ryan Smith (400m hurdles), 4x400m relay team (Smith, Warfield, Dayhoff, Gunnell), 4x400m relay team (Smith, Warfield, Dayhoff, Neville) and the 4x100m relay teams of Ioannou, Wil Glover, Keith Heerdegen and Marcus Thigpen and Dayhoff, Neville, Heerdegen and Leon Brown have met the regional standard in their respective events.

    On the women's side the list includes: Jessica Gall (5,000m), Stephanie Greer (3,000m steeplechase), Lindsay Hattendorf (10,000m), Courtney Johnson (100m hurdles), Larra Overton (1,500m and mile), Candace Perry (long jump), Lorian Price (100m hurdles), Wendi Robinson (5,000m), Kelly Siefker (3,000m steeplechase) and Ara Towns (100m).

    The Indiana Mideast Regional qualifiers will travel to Knoxville, Tenn., for the 2006 Regional meet. The Regional Meet is slated for May 26-27 at Tom Black Track.



      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties